We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Patrick Henry reenactment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. John's Episcopal Church

St. John's Episcopal Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.00*
and up
Richmond's History and Food of Shockoe Bottom and Church Hill
Ranked #13 of 167 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Windsor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Patrick Henry reenactment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We went to this church on the Sunday before Veterans Day and watched the "Give Me Liberty or Give me death" speech and reenactment. Awesome! We sat in the front row of the balcony and was glued to what George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Patrick Henry were debating.....sooooo real and it's exactly where it actually took place!
Don't miss this!!

Helpful?
Thank Ssaholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    60
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yes, you need to do the tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The tour guides are excellent at this church. They bring the history alive in costume and by their excellent recitation of Patrick Henry's speech. Go - take the tour - and love this piece of history!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murphysmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

It is not often you get to see dates in the 1600's in US Cemeteries so here is your chance. The walk through history is great within itself but the tour added so much more. The church at 1st appearance should strike you as large for the construction time and the tour took us through all of the expansions to understand the original. The tour price was quite reasonable especially when you consider it is going to a 501C3 foundation for the preservation of the historic property. The tour and the walk through history plus stops at the park and the Patrick Henry Pub make for a very nice afternoon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MacM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“History Comes Alive with passion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Went on as an elementary school chaperone. Structure, grounds, and interior of the church was outstanding - gives a true feeling for what services must have been like in the colonial period. Reenactment was OUTSTANDING.....great words, impassioned actors who stayed in and played their characters excellently, and a nice insight into the period.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Father02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Give me Liberty!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This site set the bar for experiential visitation. From Memorial to Labor Day every Sunday at 1:00, visit for free this historic site and sit among our country's leaders--Jefferson, Adams, Washington and yes, Patrick Henry. Look down the pew and hear his famous "Give me Liberty or Give me Death speech!" Breathtaking and memorable. Even the jaded will be inspired.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tourismgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. John's Episcopal Church also viewed

 

Been to St. John's Episcopal Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing