We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History comes alive!”

St. John's Episcopal Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.00*
and up
Richmond's History and Food of Shockoe Bottom and Church Hill
Ranked #12 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lake Ridge, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“History comes alive!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a beautiful, quaint church packed full of history. Attend the reenactment of Patrick Henry's "Give Me Liberty or Give Me Death" speech. You won't be disappointed! And a great gift shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    61
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“American history gem”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

"Give me liberty, or give me death," said Patrick Henry in the is location. What more do you need, history buff?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bayney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must see the re-enactment of Patrick Henry speech”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the spot where Patrick Henry gave is historical speech.. "Give me Liberty or Give me Death". This is a active church from the 1700's. Each Sunday there is a re-enactment that is INCREDIBLE. DO NOT MISS!! There are several actors in the audience the represent the characters at the time that include George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Patrick Henry and others. This is FREE. There is a recommended $5/person recommended donation. I wanted to pay more after I saw the speech. This is highly recommended in my book and would make sure that you don't miss this to get a REAL feeling is what it must have been like at the time. Highly recommend you get there early 1-1.5 hours. There is a line that forms and you hang out in the graveyard while you are waiting for the presentation.. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommended. You will leave with a better undertstanding of the thinking of our political leaders before we kicked the S%&IT out of the Brits!!! GO GO GO!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SurfRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This church takes only an hour or so to explore thoroughly, and it is well worth your time. It takes a bit of searching, since it is located in a mostly residential neighborhood, but it is such a historical gem, as well as an operating Episcopal church, that it is time well spent. Poke around the churchyard for a bit; it is a glimpse back into Colonial times.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Historical”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The words of Patrick Henry echo through the Church. The architecture and grounds are grand and the site has been well maintained.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. John's Episcopal Church also viewed

 

Been to St. John's Episcopal Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing