We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Squirrels!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Diamond

The Diamond
Ranked #38 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Richmond Flying Squirrels are the premiere source of family-friendly entertainment in Central Virginia. The Squirrels play 71 games at The Diamond during the year with a host of promotions such as free shirts, happy hours, fireworks and giveaways. The Flying Squirrels are the Double-A affiliate of the San Francisco Giants and boast proud alumnus such as Joe Panik, Matt Duffy and Brandon Belt. Come by The Diamond and Have Funn and go Nutz with us!
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go Squirrels!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Had a fun Sunday afternoon here with the kids. The park could use some rehabbing but for the price you cannot beat it. Typical consession prices for a AA team. Entertainment every half inning to keep the kids attention.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tc_odonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    35
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great entertainment on the cheap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Spend a great evening with your family or friends at a Flying Squirrels baseball game! We had a blast watching the game and the fireworks that followed. Great promos all summer including discounted or free admission for kids, seniors, and ladies.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank yearbookgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Full evening of entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

The Squirrels made some welcome upgrades to this aging ballpark, better seating, much better food, and plenty of fun. Contests, t-shirt tosses, after-game events like having kids run the bases, and very often fireworks. Like a lot of fans, I couldn't pass up the enormous beer, and I appreciate the separate brew line for folks not needing food. Corn dogs were good quality, the $2 hot dogs OK. The one down side is still the restroom facilities; I don't expect much from a ballpark bathroom, just reasonable cleanliness, but these old concrete bunkers just smell bad and need a deep renovation to cure the decades of use stench. Still, we had a great time, and plan many more visits.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunvor
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a great time--and baseball too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

THe minor league baseball was great, and you are so close you can see the players! ANd the between innings entertainment is great fun for everyone!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gunvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Star-Spangled Banner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Had front row seats just to the 3rd base side of home plate. Great seats to see our friend and her group sing the Star-Spangled Banner. The game went into extra innings and I had to leave but we did win!! Beers are a bit expensive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Diamond also viewed

 

Been to The Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing