We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the ambience...”
Review of Cafe Caturra

Cafe Caturra
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Caturra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #551 of 1,608 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love the ambience...”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As soon as I moved to the Short Pump area this became my go-to place for lunches with out-of-town friends. They were always impressed with the food, the ambience, and the indoor/outdoor fireplace. When I went back to school I'd sit with friends in a study group and we would eat the meat and cheese plate and drink a little wine with our studies. They later closed the one in Short pump and moved it closer to the older area of Richmond closer to Monument and Carytown. It's great! I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for good food and a good vibe. My favorite dish is the arugula salad with blueberries and goat cheese (I add grilled chicken to mine). The chicken curry sandwich is delicious too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingsince1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun & Informal”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Good food and wine selection; innovative sweets, good coffee, great fireplace, patio, value, and ambiance.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SLKj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great Business Lunch”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Had a great business lunch at Cafe Caturra on Grove. Food was great, service was fast and the atmosphere was awesome. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJohnston69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Another great trip”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Everything from the atmosphere, to the location, to the food itself one can never go wrong with this place. During my last visit I had the pork tacos with black bean soup. Even though the black bean soup was more strained than bean, the flavor was wonderful. My mom had the Reuben sandwich she thought had great flavor and was hearty. Always a treat to visit Caturra and look forward to the next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Kimberdny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great whether alone or with friends!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Cafe Caturra is one of those places that can be anything you'd like it to be. It's a wine bar, a coffee house, a great place for breakfast, lunch, dinner or happy hour. The decor is warm and welcoming. The food items are freshly prepared and pleasing, without being pretentious. You'll find a variety of sandwiches, salads, and soups, along with bakery items and happy hour specials to share. The outdoor patio is lovely in warmer weather, and the fireplace provides a cozy seating area to read alone or chat with friends. Free wi-fi, generous wine tasting, and a friendly and knowledgeable staff that has always been top- notch add to your reasons to give this place a try. You'll keep going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turtlemom5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Caturra also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Caturra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing