We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite!!”
Review of Belmont Food Shop

Belmont Food Shop
Ranked #190 of 1,607 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Yum. Yum. Yum. Such a cute places for speciality drinks at the bar. You can't beat the $30 prefix dinner ( app, main & dessert)! It's just great got atmosphere and delish food. It was a tad salty last time I went, but I'll be again and again. And the best part? It's on Belmont. The best street in rva!

Helpful?
Thank Dejessness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benedict, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must in Richmond”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We literally stumbled onto this great, small, and intimate restaurant and had one of the best meals ever. We had the prix fixe dinner and we have had less and paid more in many places but this was an amazing value. The space is warm and cosy, about six tables and the chef, Mike, came out at the end to chat. Our server, Emeril, was amazing, attentive, and always had a smile and answered our questions. We were there on a Monday, pretty busy bar trade but just a pleasant vibe. A sweet, 1920s, simple decor, and low stress. LOVED IT.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great "Richmond" dinner”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Everything on the menu was delicious. Drinks were equally great. The restaurant itself is on the small side (only seats about 15 at the table + bar). Food took a while to arrive, but was well worth the wait. Great service otherwise.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Mike is an incredible chef who consistently serves the best food in Richmond. Meals are fresh, in season and always to temperature. Service is prompt and guests are allowed to enjoy the cozy ambiance of the restaurant without feeling rushed. From the amuse-bouche to the last bite, I can guarantee your palate will be well satisfied. The best part... It is fine dining at an affordable price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAMissA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Belmont Food Shop - Amazing Prix Fixe; Overpriced Wines”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

While Belmont Food Shop changes its menu frequently, I was fortunate enough to dine there when the appetizer list featured Braised Rabbit with Hominy and Corn. Tender chunks of rabbit with a creamy-silky sauce. The balance of corn and hominy perfected this dish. Because of the richness, the portion size was just right as well.

We had not planned to eat here, but arrived early enough to snag a couple of places at the bar. I also enjoyed the Roast Chicken with Spoon Bread and Spinach. The chicken was moist and tasty; spoon bread, spot on with the balance of corniness and sweetness.

The wine that I imbibed was the Petit Petite from David Michael. One of my recent favs, but a bit pricey given a restaurant down the street offers it for $12 less per bottle. I guess the wine prices make up for the fantastic price of the $30 three course prix fixe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belmont Food Shop also viewed

 

Been to Belmont Food Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing