We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movieland at Boulevard Square

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Movieland at Boulevard Square
Ranked #7 of 23 Fun & Games in Richmond
Attraction details
RVA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Absolutely love this very "adult like" theatre. The atmosphere is very nice, and the old railroad station/ tracks are a plus. A "most see" location!! =)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaM423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique-love going here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

First the renovation on this building is remarkable. It has beautiful high windows, exposed brick, and a touch of history. It has a small bar for before or after movie drinks. Then it has a large number of theaters, not only first run, but special showings as well. This is the only place we go to the movies in Richmond, love it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best place to see a movie in Richmond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Comfy seats, sparkling clean restrooms, friendly staff all make for an enjoyable movie viewing experience. Besides first run films, there are several special showings, too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Close Contact Criterion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

To begin, I must let you know I have not experienced a movie at the Movieland Cinema itself. We did, however, recently experience a movie in the much more intimate Criterion Cinema located just outside the Movieland Cinema at Boulevard Square.

From your parking lot arrival, you will notice the care that has gone into developing this set of Bow-Tie Cinemas. The parking lot is attractive, well lit and nicely finished. The development itself is located near downtown Richmond in some older buildings which have a lot of character and lend a definite sense of charm to your movie-going experience. The Criterion Cinemas have been fitted into a very small brick building that you cannot believe houses any theaters. In fact, when you enter, you will be surprised at the clever design needed to pull this off. Even the bathrooms were well designed to fit in what almost seems to be extra space. They are appointed nicely and are more attractive than your typical movie theater bathrooms.

When we first entered the theater itself, I was intrigued by the small size. I was curious if it would be adequate for the "full" movie experience, but it seemed kind of quaint and novel to have only a few rows of seats and the screen so close to the seats
...that is until the place filled up. I'm guessing the capacity was about 50 people, and every seat was full for our movie. That's when the claustrophobia set in. We arrived early and plopped ourselves right in the middle for a nice view. But since there is only an entrance to each row from one side, guess what? We had to slide down and ended up with a side view. So much for arriving early. I would not have wanted to be the person shoved all the way up against the wall on the end. But don't arrive too late, either; you might be split from your significant other if the seats are mostly taken.
Then there was the issue of so many people in a very small place. I think someone opened a bottle of scented lotion, and there was no place for the smell to dissipate. No one's conversation was private. It even took way too long into the serious movie for this particular crowd to stop talking and laughing, and there was no escape. It was also a bit warm for a winter night. All of this was quite distracting, mostly due to the close contact of the theater.

Once the movie began and when the crowd eventually settled down, we were able to thoroughly enjoy the movie. The screen size works just fine once your eyes adjust. The sound was pretty good but not quite the huge theater experience. The leather seats were most comfortable, although mine was a bit noisy. I think if you entered in a wheelchair, this would be an awesome theater. The accessible seats were at the top in the back. They had more space but were still not very far from the screen.

If you could attend this theater when you knew there would be a small crowd, it would be a really cool experience. In fact, I would probably choose it over that of a larger theater. However, during a crowded showtime, be warned that you better be able to tolerate intimate contact with about 49 other people if you want to experience this small theater. It is well done, very comfortable, and cleverly designed. It is worth a try.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chanin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Movieland at Boulevard Square also viewed

 

Been to Movieland at Boulevard Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing