We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for Great Pizza”
Review of Bottoms Up

Bottoms Up
Ranked #30 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Great Pizza”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We went to this restaurant on a Sunday evening when they were not too busy. As we entered, there were 3-4 staff members who were supposed to greet and welcome us. For the first minute or so, they just ignored us and kept on chit-chatting with each other. Then, with some annoyance on their faces, they turned to us! This shows lack of training of the hostesses. Thereafter the hostess took us to our table in a booth. She did not talk to us or welcome us, was aloof and unfriendly. Our server (Austin) was a total opposite. He was very friendly, welcoming, patient and caring. He exemplifies good service and I congratulate the restaurant for having staff members like Austin. The hostesses however, need to be MUCH better trained.

Due to Austin's great service and nice attitude, we had a great time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ravi4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    141
    59
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not only the best pizza in Richmond, but some of the best in the state”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Anyone who lives in Richmond knows there's no reason to go anywhere else for pizza. Anyone who doesn't live in Richmond needs to make the trip. They're 90 minutes from our home in Norfolk and Bottoms Up is worth the drive.

They're known for traditional toppings and unique originals such as the Rockefeller Pizza. Think Oysters Rockefeller but on a pizza.

With pizza it's all about the crust. Bottoms Up's is unique. Light, thick and crispy. Almost like a French baguette.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best pizza anywhere”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have recommended Bottoms Up to locals and travelers. No one is ever disappointed. You can build your own kind or choose from many on the menu . I particularly like the goat In The garden.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acey071368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pizza very good but expensive”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great selection of pizzas. Hard to make a decision on which to order. Our veggie pizza was very tasty with lots of toppings. Still $18.95 for a medium pizza is steep. Wait staff were very attentive and knowledgeable of menu. Parking is always a challenge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dond7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food is yummy!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were walking the canal walk, checking out the flood wall and other sites. Lunch here was perfect. Staff is friendly and attentive, even though the place was busy!!! Great food!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoachyRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bottoms Up also viewed

 

Been to Bottoms Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing