We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Excellent!”
Review of Pegasus Restaurant

Pegasus Restaurant
Ranked #371 of 1,607 Restaurants in Richmond
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
richmond, virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I have been patrons of Pegasus's Restaurant for over 20 years. The restaurant is small and reservations are a must on weekends. Food is consistently excellent. Our favorites dishes are Veal Marsale and Lemon Veal with Artichokes. The chef is the owner so you will rarely see him but the meals coming out of the kitchen are fabulous. Their specials are excellent which usually include fish, crab cakes and beef. Their customers are "regulars" and it is not uncommon to see the same customers sitting in their regular spots. They tend to have an older crowd but you will see every age group. It is one of the very best restaurants in Richmond. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizRichmond_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem with Class”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our group of eight go here for various occasions, such as New Year's Eve, Valentines Day, etc. and it consistently offers good food at respectable prices. The restaurant caters to a lot of "regulars" of what I will refer to as "mature" versus senior clientele. We tend to be a little picky at times, so I will state that on this particulat visit my veal was a little tougher than I would normally prefer. However, overall the food was tasty and most of our group's dishes were well prepared. Since it was New Years Eve, we anticipated that the service could be a little slower than normal, but overall it wasn't too bad.
On most previous occasions we had no issues to speak of, and that's why we tend to go back.
One of us ordered a bloody mary which could have been better in flavor, but that's not the primary reason why we go here.
I would suggest that this restaurant remains consistently on the better than average list and we'll go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MusicMan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neighborhood favorite”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This restaurant is one of a kind. You will see a loyal following there and a friends and family atmosphere. It is very popular with the older well heeled diner and that equates to consistency in the cuisine. So if you like what you had there a month ago it will be the same the next time !! Always try the specials. They know how make a meal special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grouperboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I finally went to this restaurant after living in the Richmond area for 32 years. Recommended by a long time Richmond resident, we made reservations with another couple. The place is not that big so reservations are needed. Service was very good and the food outstanding. My wife had the crab cakes which looked delicious. Salads were very well done. I had a pasta dish which arrived hot and very well prepared. Wine selection is very good as well. You will not be disappointed in coming here for dinner unless you can't get it. Don't wait 32 years. :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good meals in a pleasant surronding”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We took in Pegasus last evening for the first time and found the other reviews to be right on. The service was attentive but not intrusive. We arrived early when there were few other dinders and the meal extended into the crowded time but felt no pressure to vacate the table. The lamb is indeed excellent although heavy on the garlic for my tastes-I'm sure the chef would have been glad to cut back had I asked. Others in our party enjoyed the fried oysters and seafood pasta. The salad was also very good and the chocolate mousse perfect. Too bad they didn't have a dessert wine to go with it. For two of us three courses with a bottle of wine plus tip the bill was just about $100.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rolling_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pegasus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pegasus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing