We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fav Richmond sushi spot for a few years running now..”
Review of Akida

Akida
Ranked #302 of 1,607 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fav Richmond sushi spot for a few years running now..”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

There are other good sushi spots in Richmond, but to me Akida is hands down the best. The prices, the flavor, and the traditional rolls all keep my husband and I coming back here year after year even though we don't technically live in Richmond anymore. The spicy tuna hand roll is definitely one I keep coming back to. I have not found a better spicy tuna in Richmond yet.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoZav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi, low key atmosphere.”
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Extremely good sushi served in a friendly, almost neighborhood style restaurant. On the small side, nothing elegant, but quite fresh and very tasty - even had ivory tuna! Just don't park in the Bank of America parking lot across the street, which is closed even after hours on a demonstration of corporate stupidity of mindless scale. Proprietors of Akida are friendly, take pride in their restaurant, and it shows!

Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good richmond sushi”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Until now, I have been pretty content with getting my sushi fix at Osaka on River Rd. But now Akida is my new favorite place for sushi in Richmond. Yes, it's a small place, but you're sure to get a table if you go for lunch.

I found the sushi to be really fresh and the service friendly. If you go for lunch, definitely order the 9.95 box lunch and you'll be full. It comes with a bowl of rice, traditional japanese salad, miso soup, 6 california rolls and 5 pieces of sushi. Wow.
The sushi (a variety of tuna, white tuna, snapper and salmon) was really good.

Even though I was full, I had to sample the spicy tuna rolls too. Those are a must order, and probably my favorite.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank reggierayray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My go-to sushi place”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My first choice for sushi when I'm in RVA and have my sushi-loving people with me...I make it a point to get here. Very small, there are probably less than 12 tables in there and some seating at the bar area. Good idea to get there early or at least try not to go with a large group. Delicious, fresh and not fussy. Not a long wait for your food and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneH831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“To notch sushi”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Felt likely to find this place while in Richmond for business. Had 2 great lunches here and got the chirashi each time. A bit hard to find and parking is tricky since the Bank of America apparently tows if you park in their lot but sushi is worth it.

Always a good sign when the sushi chefs speak in Japanase to themselves. Very fresh and "pretty" chirashi.

Haven't had the cooked options but assume generally standard Japanese fare.

So highly recommend if you are in the area and locals tell me it is better than a more popular sushi joint in CaryTown.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akida also viewed

 
Richmond, VA
 

Been to Akida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing