We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch stop, close to Hwy 95”
Review of Kuba-Kuba

Kuba-Kuba
Ranked #14 of 1,603 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Takeout
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick lunch stop, close to Hwy 95”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This small restaurant set in an old grocery store, the service is kind of slow, the food is great! The cuban sandwich was terrific.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    136
    38
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I've eaten at this restaurant a number of times and always have had a good experience. The place is small and can be loud but that's just part of the casual ambience. The food is always good and the service attentive unless they're really busy and then it might be a bit slow. It's a good choice for a place to grab a casual meal in the Fan.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dini35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wasn't for me”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I'm sure for someone who isn't a vegetarian and who doesn't mind eating in a loud and bustling environment, this restaurant would be just fine, but for me, I wished I hadn't come. For one, there was absolutely nothing on the menu I could get, and the waitress seemed as if she could not be bothered to try to suggest accomodations/substitutions. Another thing, it's one open room for dining and everyone is basically crammed on top of one another; the acoustics in the room are horrible so everyone's conversation is amplified, as is the music they place. I couldn't even have a conversation with my husband over all the noise, and since there was nothing to eat, I just sat in loudness and watched and waited till he finished. Awkward and odd. We went during lunch, so maybe going during an odd time of day might yield a better environment, more attentive waitstaff, and a more enjoyable overall experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phemgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I've been to Kuba Kuba many times and everything I order is always super tasty and keeps me coming back! Food, drinks, service is always good. It is a rather small place so sometimes there can be a wait but it is worth it and moves quick!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KKJBB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good Cuban Food”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Good Cuban Food small restaurant/grocery store, you can find good wholesome by Chef Manny, cooked more towards the American palate, me being Cuban would have added more cumin, cilantro, garlic and other spices, but overall a good choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuba-Kuba also viewed

 

Been to Kuba-Kuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing