We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce atmosphere average Italian food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Frank's West Pizzeria Italian
Ranked #311 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“NIce atmosphere average Italian food”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Nestled in a shopping center complex is a well decorated nice atmosphere restaurant. The waiter was professional and courteous, well informed, and attentive. My boyfriend had the spaghetti and meatballs which was a bit bland. The sauce was uneventful and reminded us of "jar" sauce. I had the shrimp scampi which was flavorful and the shrimp were large but a bit overcooked. My boyfriend's sister had the veal which had the same bland sauce.

It's a overpriced for the food though they try making up for the lack of taste by giving you plenty of food. We did notice that many people came in to pick up pizzas...maybe we will try that out since their dinners weren't worth the 20 dollars a plate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can you say never again? And I live close by.”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

3rd strike.--2 times before have not been good experiences but for some reason my husband says...oh lets try it again. If I could give it a negative one I would. Okay first off the food is decent enough but not worth the wait. I actually felt even worse for the family that sat next to us. They also had 2 young kids, but also their older parents and a few other relatives. They were seated before us and their food arrived after ours and they ONLY ORDERED PIZZA. We ordered 3 entrees and a large cheese (no other toppings) pizza. What I did notice was that there were a lot of to go orders coming in through the phone. Guess who got their pizza's before us and the other table? We were there from 7:30 p.m. and didn't get our pizza till about 15 minutes before 9 p.m. I kept trying to give their other family a few slices for their kids. Thank g-d both tables had iphones to try and ward off any starving kid meltdowns.
Also: 1 glass of red wine was $13 and it was an average wine...don't even pay that at nice sitdowns without kids
Our bill for 3 entrees, 1 plain cheese pizza, 2 apple juices, 2 redwines was $110.00!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommy-Traveler-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again - Long Wait for Pizza and Terrible Management Response”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

NEVER AGAIN! We've been to Frank's perhaps a dozen times in the past 7 years. Each time I wonder why we paid the premium over what a "pizza joint" should cost. We kept going back because they're close, their food is okay and service is good (normally), but after tonight, never again. We went with our 4 & 6 year old and sat at the bar waiting for a table. They quoted 10 minutes but it was 30 before we sat down. After ordering, it was 45 minutes to get a pizza, 2 specials and 1 pasta dish. The bill was $110! After 40 minutes I suggested to the owner that they should really start offering a glass of wine to those customers who were waiting (at least 3 tables had ridiculous waits for pizza). Nothing. Not even offering to comp the $13 pizza on a $110 bill. In fairness they did offer a free dessert, but after 9pm our kids could not handle any more. No more chances for Frank's West. We're done!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Solidly good Italian food with a very friendly waitstaff.”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We are a fairly regular customer at Frank's. It is my wife's favorite alternative to staying home. The meals are very classic Italian and the menu doesn't change much. We like that predictability. But most of all we enjoy the extremely nice staff and careful attention serving us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central VA
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Probably the best NY Style pizza in town”
Reviewed 2 August 2009

The owner is from Italy, and it shows in the food. The pizza is excellent, if you like NY Style pie.
If your first concern when getting pizza is "do they have coupons", Franks is probably not your place.

This place, along with Capriccio's serve consistently good pizza. Sometimes I think this place is better, other times Capriccio's Both will do for me any time, thank you very much.

The eggplant parm is very good as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VASkeptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frank's West Pizzeria Italian also viewed

 

Been to Frank's West Pizzeria Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing