We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere and Food”

Legend Brewing Company
Ranked #65 of 1,607 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nice relaxing evening with view of the Richmond Skyline. Wonderful food, great beverages, and cool bluegrass band outside! We came on a Friday night and our server was busy, yet very attentive and provided excellent service. We will be back! Delicious fish and chips, huge Reuben, and yummy Mac and Cheese!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    88
    51
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Beer and View - Poor Service”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our group of five went to Legend Brewing on a beautiful Tuesday afternoon. We ate outside and enjoyed the weather and the view. My Hefeweizen was wonderful and everyone enjoyed their beers. Unfortunately, our waitress from Boston failed to tell me about the happy hour that was going on until 4:00PM (1/2 pitcher for $5). So I paid double the price for my beer and so did my brother and his wife. The food was average. My turkey wrap with fries was $10.99. I looked at my plate and asked if it had sauce on it and the waitress from Boston said it had guacamole. It was very dry, I went inside and checked the menu before I left and I was supposed to have received a side of honey mustard with this wrap. To sum it up: Mediocre food, very poor bordering on rude service, beautiful view of the Richmond skyline and good beer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good beer and tasty burgers”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We went here on a Friday night, when the deck outside was packed. That was OK, as it looked like rain was coming later on. We were promptly seated inside, but service was continuously slow for the hour and a half we were there. It looked like all of the servers had tables inside and out, which left them scrambling to get to everyone. Once we got our beer, we were very pleased. The Porter and the Brown Ale were excellent. We both had burgers which were cooked as requested, heartily sized and perfectly juicy. Thumbs up for the fries that go along with them as well. Speed up the service and it becomes a top notch craft beer and food joint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kalvinr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant sun-soaked lunch on the deck”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Arrived around 1:30pm on a Saturday for lunch. Our group of 3 asked to sit on the deck, and we were seated right away. The hostess initially showed us to a table in the shade, but we opted for a table in the sun at the edge of the deck with a nice view of the Richmond downtown and the brown, rapid-filled James River.

It took several minutes for our waiter to greet us. He then told us all the beer specials and answered several questions we had about the beers and food. Our waiter then took our order, and we got our beers a few minutes later--a Pilsner, a Golden, and a Hefeweissen. We were all happy with our choices thanks to our waiter's good descriptions and advice. Our food arrived 10-15 minutes after that. My fish tacos made with red snapper were very good. My sister-in-law's Reuben sandwich was tasty. My husband said his burger was fine, not great.

We had a very pleasant lunch on a perfect sunny day with a nice view. We then ordered a second round of beers which came pretty quickly. I would definitely return here. Next time I'd like to try a flight of beers to sample more of Legend's beer variety.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Macybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sit on the Deck”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a group of six guys and we arrived around 6:30 on a Sat. night in April Weather was great so we wanted to sit outside We had to wait about 45 min. for a table on the deck which overlooks the James River . While the service was not fast it was acceptable. The food took a long time to come but that gave us more time to try different beers and ales and enjoy a warm and sunny evening. I had a pasta dish which was average but did find an IPA that was very good. If you want a great view and craft beer this is the place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zeteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legend Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Legend Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing