We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Always a great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azzurro Restaurant

Azzurro Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Azzurro Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #151 of 1,579 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have probably dined here a dozen times in the past 18 months. They are always willing to try to accommodate your seat requests with pleasure... (We enjoy their outside patio, whenever the weather cooperates). Their food is excellent... brick oven pizzas, for late night casual dining, or fine pastas for full a multi-course meal... and they make a great martini, too.
We always feel welcome, appreciated, and comfortable here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Equstrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bland and Overpriced -- meh !!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I read the reviews about great italian food. It's in an expensive area of Richmond and I guess they figure they can overcharge for some of the food. I had a Caesars Salad, which was very bland and had no flavor. It was basically, a white cream lightly blended in with the lettuce. Not worth the outrageous $12. I also had the Carbonara, which I was highly anticipating since I rarely see it on the menu. Since this is supposedly a top Italian restaurant, I thought I'd give it a try. Meh, is all I can say. Again, bland food with no flavor or character. I went for dinner solo on business so there was no crowd or any service issues that could be the cause of inferior dinner. I definitely will not be back. Not worth the hype. I've had better dinners at Carraba's for 1/2 the price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skepticman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

A great meal with interesting specials and great service! Mentioned birthday celebration in our online reservation and they were more than ready when we arrived a few

Wine list was very interesting. Great Pinot Grigio!

We'll return as a couple.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1HappyTravellerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ups and Downs in Richmond”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This restaurant has a really interesting wine list, with some unusual wines for an American Italian restaurant. The place physically is very attractive. But we were seated in a cold draft. Service at brunch was really slow. Our waiter seemed more interested in the tennis tournament on the TV in the bar than he did serving us. We were served muffins that looked like someone else had already taken a bite out of them. We asked for bread and had to ask another waiter before we ever got any. We had the brunch servings of pasta and the flavors were either bland or "off" somehow. We will not go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jnwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
424 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very good ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We had a large group and had great food at a good value. Get the Salmon Caesar. Vegetable Lasagne was also very good. Try this one.

Helpful?
2 Thank GLENN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Azzurro Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Azzurro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing