We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky Place w/Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 821 Bakery Cafe

821 Bakery Cafe
Ranked #113 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Reston VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Funky Place w/Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Came upon this place when my son had freshman orientation at VCU and had a great omelette breakfast there. When we dropped him off to attend his freshman year, my husband & I went back to this sweet little spot. It a very funky, collegiate cafe, but don't let the homey atmosphere fool you--they have great food here with some outstanding micro brews on tap. The sandwiches we had were hot, fresh & meaty. They make their own french fries from scratch. Plenty on the menu for vegetarians, too. Right next to the Cary Street gym. Only down side is that it's pretty small, but that's probably what keeps the food and beer good. We will, no doubt, be going back there in the future, and so will my son and all of his new friends!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sandston, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Met friends for Friday night dinner....we went for draft microbrews and the varied, interesting $5 small plates, vegetarians options. Excellent service. The place is small, not sure why I am sharing this secret actually....mostly because they deserve a fab review!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swampgal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eclectic 50's decor and good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We only ate here for breakfast, even though they served lunch and dinner with a small bar. I had a light breakfast both days, cheese grits (very good) and a biscuit the next (3-4" dia) which was probably the best I have ever had. My husband had rosemary potatoes and sausage patties that he said were good. We saw some of the breakfast burritos and other selections coming out of the kitchen, and you could easily split them.

It looks like a restaurant you would find in a college town, original 50's style tables and variety pack chairs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rdozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In The South
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

One of my favourite spots to grab breakfast while I'm in Richmond. Good selection of vegan food, strong coffee. Today's waitress was attentive and accommodating, with fast service. Also love the fact that you can get fruit as a side instead of carbs. The bloody marys are huuge! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Hipster hot spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

821 was just a couple min walk from the Double Tree and just outside of the VCU campus. The food was above average, but the atmosphere was great. The tables are close together and some how we ended up in a conversation with the people to our right about Federal Economic Policy and the people to the left about aging and the need for mental activity as on ages.

The service was quick and the staff was nice. As we sat there I felt like we had been moved from Richmond to San Francisco.

Great shop, check it out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jgardn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 821 Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to 821 Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing