We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent local restaurant!”
Review of Tastebuds American Bistro - CLOSED

Tastebuds American Bistro
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We enjoyed this northside restaurant with another couple last night. Cozy place with an upscale feel, but not too expensive. The specials were delicious and service was excellent. Their risotto with shrimp is very tasty. You have to try the carrot cake...amazing!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thosraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,001 reviews
635 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
“Excellent Food,Excellent sevice!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our first visit to this restaurant , it came highly recommended by a good friend whom we trust. We were not disappointed, immediately greeted by a friendly hostess we observed the nice warm cozy atmosphere of the restaurant, which I would describe as being: laid back, not trying to hard, yet sophisticated all rolled into one. Local artist works are displayed on the walls. There were daily special's featured one was Cod with Veggies and potatoes which I had and my husband had the lamb chops which came with mashed potatoes, stuffed with ground lamb and asparagus. Both our meals were delicious. Overall we had a great experience and we will definitely be going back. Charming ,simply charming !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bornabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't know what the hooplah is about”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went here on a Thursday evening. The restaurant setting is pleasant with a decent amount of distance between the tables. The food was really just so-so. The spinach salad was adequate, not overly flavorful (husband's had the pickled onions which he didn't like and my salad was missing them altogether). For main courses, he had the pork tenderloin which he stated was dry and was made acceptable only by the sauce provided with the dish. I had the duck two ways. The breast was cooked very nicely. I thought they had forgotten the confit altogether until I found a few threads buried in the accompanying salad. The polenta cake was nice and crispy but very peppery. For dessert we had the amaretto-chocolate ricotta crepes which had little flavor and a very strange mouth-feel.

We were both disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food, basic atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nice varied selection with a little pretense (french terms on the menu) We enjoyed a lovely dinner for two.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonQuix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not on a main street,,but worth looking for”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This chef owned restaurant consistently prepares creative and tasty dishes at reasonable prices.
It is a neighborhood treasure , which we happily share with those who have to use their GPS to find it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tastebuds American Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing