We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a quick lunch”
Review of Mr Submarine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mr Submarine
Ranked #746 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for a quick lunch”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is a great place to stop and get lunch. The food is really good despite the looks of the place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Starloverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisa, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by the cover!”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

this place looks run down as it should it's old! but with age comes great food! we were very pleasantly surprised by the taste of their food! the cook knew people by name! they have a drive up window also. You can watch them prepare your food also! the cashier was a lovely lady who took every ones orders with a smile! My husband ordered a Gyro, which is why we stopped in because he loves them and wanted to know how good these were. He aint every last morsel! My daughter ordered buffalo wings. she said they were some of the best she has had recently! not to hot but just enough spice to make it melt in your mouth good. I ordered beer battered onion rings. they were spectacular! we all got sweet tea. it was fresh and not overly sweet like some places. Don't let the neighborhood fool you. it's right at the edge of downtown. we are not a family who judge an area by it's location or ethnic majority. we love great food where ever it is! and this place rocks! the people we encountered were ALL friendly!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veta_Boles_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, ia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't judge it from the outside”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Totally the opposite of Hooters where there are decent things to look at and the food sucks. This place isn't much to look at but the food is great. I liked the Grilled Chicken and the Gyro, but the Steak and Cheese "all the way" is my favorite.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tedescom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good place for a greasy...”
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Good place for a greasy sandwich.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Decent food for a chain...”
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Decent food for a chain restaurant. Order the Gyro and grab a fork because it'll get messy.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mr Submarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing