We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal, very large serves” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam Miller's Restaurant

Sam Miller's Restaurant
Ranked #190 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: US$30 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 23219
Description: It is our hope that your visit to these pages will entice you to join us in person for some of "the best crab cakes in Richmond." In addition to fine seafood we serve USDA Prime beef, creative pasta dishes and salads to suit any taste.If you can't find what you are looking for here, please don't hesitate to call us. We look forward to helping you with anything from private party planning to a dinner reservation for two.
Carlingford, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice meal, very large serves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The serves were very large, I couldn't get through half of my entree.
Comprehensive menu covered all fod choices.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    45
    38
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive, long food wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Average experience. Overpriced. Simple lunch food (cesar salad and sandwich) took 25min with no one in restaurant. Waitress did not check-in or refill drinks. I would not recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnhZ7162LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We decided to head to Richmond to get our fill of culture. Although we walked around in the rain most of the afternoon, we darted into Sam Miller's for lunch. At first the service was a little slow, but once they figured out who our server should be, we had a nice lunch. And it appeared they were setting up for some special events in the larger dining rooms. Boys loved their burger! Crabcake sandwich was amazing! And the fish tacos were awesome! Would certainly go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Poor sums it up”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Brunch menu on Sunday was very odd. Waitress didn't know the menu. Crab cake sandwich was mushy and served on a stale roll. I asked to sub fries for salad and they served it with mushy fries. Re asked for salad and received a small soup bowl with four lettuce leaves. $ 13 .95 seems high for this.
Will not return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmsc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale, Nj
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This restaurant is a delightful find. There are a lot of restaurants in this area of Richmond but this spot had a complete bar service as well as a restaurant . They were happy to work with me adapting the offered menu to my preference. I had a lovely baby spinach salad with crisp bacon, onions, tomato and en lieu of the salmon I had a wonderful crab cake. This was served with a light mustard dressing on the side, my husband had a flounder with a crabmeat filling over a bed of wild rice. Delicious all around.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geri Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam Miller's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sam Miller's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing