We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza. Great Beer Selection.”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #20 of 1,607 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Mellow Mushroom's menu showcases natural flavors and the freshest of ingredients in a creative menu assortment of pizzas, hoagies, salads, calzones, appetizers and vegetarian and vegan options. Gluten free crust and a kids menu are also available. Fantastic pizza and 40 taps with some great local brews. We also cater on order of $150+ within 20 minutes of Carytown.
Forest, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Pizza. Great Beer Selection.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Large selection of specialty pizzas at a decent price. The craft beer selection on tap is also very nice. Lots of local breweries. Would return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adharris0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    66
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Visited this Mellow Mushroom with extended family over the holidays- we have probably been to 5 other Mellows in other locations on the east coast. Hostess and waitstaff were very friendly and the decor was the typical (in a good way) funky vibe. Our pizzas were a little over-cooked; however, the place was packed so the kitchen was swamped with orders but overall good enough that we would go back and recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Alternative atmosphere + good pizza = epic”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We went here for lunch with a couple who had been here before and recommended it. Love the location, the building is in Carytown section of Richmond and used to house Plan 9 Records, that moved across the street.
Food was very good. I had lunch special of soup and tossed salad with balsamic vinaigrette, the soup was tiny bit salty for my taste but not overpowering. Another in our party got lunch special of slice of pizza with salad. He picked the turkey pizza slice, thin crust, delicious, and the enlightened salad with pecans, spinach, feta, cranberries, and apple with honey mustard dressing. Couple got the wakin' bacon pizza with two eggs sunny side up on white pizza base, asparagus, cilantro, also delicious.
Ambiance is bright, artsy decor with lots of wall decorations, lovely bar with forty beers on tap and three big screen TVs. Kind of loud when its full at lunch. One person had Stella Artois beer for $4.50. The bill for food for for at lunch was $42.00 plus tax and tip.
Service was attentive but not overly so, and food came out fast. Recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyinVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The pizza here is very good. I wasn't expecting them to be quite as great as they were and I was thoroughly impressed. I will definitely be back soon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
“Great pizza”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This place is great. We've only done takeout, but they do a great job with gluten free pizza, making it in a separate kitchen so there's no contamination. So glad it's finally made it to Richmond!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing