We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually great pizza . . .”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #19 of 1,608 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Mellow Mushroom's menu showcases natural flavors and the freshest of ingredients in a creative menu assortment of pizzas, hoagies, salads, calzones, appetizers and vegetarian and vegan options. Gluten free crust and a kids menu are also available. Fantastic pizza and 40 taps with some great local brews. We also cater on order of $150+ within 20 minutes of Carytown.
Richmond
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Usually great pizza . . .”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The pizza is good and the beer is great . . . We have eaten there frequently but two poor quality control experiences in a row have been disappointing. The first was a substitution -or mistake - of toppings. It took us a bit to realize we had bacon instead of pepperoni, but we chalked it off. Mistakes happen so no big deal. The next time it was worse. Our pizza crust was burned black on the bottom, which really affected the taste. We had waited at least 30 minutes for the table and another 30 for the pizza, so we ate it out of desperation. We showed the crust to our server before we ate it to let her know that it had happened but we didn't have time for a redo. She said she'd discount the bill. The manager came over and we explained the situation - that we ate the pizza because we had waited so long but it was burned. No apparent concern regarding the lack of quality and no discount. I guess they figured if we ate it then how bad could it have been. We haven't been back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    66
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Funky decor and yummy pizza”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Mellow Mushroom is located on a cute street with interesting shops. The interior is 60's and worth going in just to see the "audiophile" artwork on the wall. This mural is made up of records, CDs, tapes and audio equipment -- remember 8-track and cassette tapes? We arrived about 5pm on a rainy Wednesday night and had no problem getting a table, but by the time we left the place was packed. Service was efficient, friendly and helpful. My boyfriend liked being able to try a couple of beers before deciding which to order. We split a regular chef salad that was a nice mix of veggies and served in a tilted melamine bowl -- part of the funky 60's feel. The server recommended the Esperanza dressing and it is delicious. Our large pizza -- half Kosmic Karma and half Philosopher's Pie -- was two completely different kinds of pie (one with red sauce base and one with oil and garlic base) and both were yummy. The crust was crisp and light and the toppings arranged in a pleasing way. Everything looked and tasted fresh. Bathrooms are very nice art deco feeling with black and white tile. The sinks and toilets appeared clean, but the stalls needed a thorough wash-down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaKay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, long wait, but good”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Wife and I decided to try this out the other week and we had an hour long wait. This place was packed and jumping. Now on to the food. The pizza was good, not great, but good. However, this may sound weird, but the leftovers I had the next day, were even better (in the oven of course). The pizza didn't have that robust flavor I was looking for compared to their competitior which is literally down the street called Mary Angela's but I'm glad that I decided to try it. I had pepperoni, sausage and onions on my half and the wifey had pepperoni and pineapple on hers and I have to be honest, that was the besting pepperoni/pineapple combination I've ever had. All in all, I would go back and know that their pizza cost more than the chain restaurants. Ambiance is good and loud. Location is great in Carytown.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“REALLY?!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This restaurant is proof that a chain can survive on its name alone, so long as it has an attractive interior and stays open later than everyone else. Our order was take out and we had wanted to visit Mellow Mushroom after hearing about it in other cities for so long. We called in our order at 9:30 p.m. and told it would be 1/2 hr. until it was ready. The place was full at 10 p.m. Nice happy atmosphere--great murals. Heavy duty box with pretty logo on it. White cheese large pizza...cold, 6 slivers of tomatoes arranged on it, mostly crust. AND $27!! It came to about a dollar per bite for a lot of crust. Miss this one.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Carytown eats”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal last night in Richmond at the Mellow Mushroom. The House Special pizza with its generous combo of meats and veggies was perfect. The Jerked Chicken sandwich was delicious, especially with the bits of sweet pineapple contrasting with the spicy meat. It was so generous, we saved half to take home for lunch tomorrow. Besides their great food, the Mellow Mushroom has an astounding selection of beer on draft including the new Isley Brewing Company's Oatmeal Stout and a deliciously crisp Fox Barrel pear cider. Yummy. We really look forward to going back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginiarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing