We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5”
Review of Sugar Shack Donuts

Sugar Shack Donuts
Ranked #4 of 21 Bakeries in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“3.5”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Gosh, we went with the highest hopes for this place. We have been watching and waiting for it to open. We saw the reviews and went with every expectation of having our donuts dreams come true. We went on a Saturday late morning. The line was out the door, the decor is excellent -current with a nod to the past, our excitement built.......
here is where our disappointment began, the line was so long due to the fact that though friendly, the place is still disorganized. The donuts are not labeled requiring every drooling buyer to ask what each one is, the drink guy who could be doing something else is just standing there, the girl at the register was counting out money from the tip jar while attempting to ring people up (did she need change or what, but counting it out in front of line of 15-20 people???) So we thought okay, they haven't been open that long, maybe they just need to get a few things ironed out, if the donuts are delicious we will forget the process. But, they did not have a wow factor in our donut world. We had the chocolate cake with plain glaze and the glazed pumpkin. Admittedly the selection on this particular time and day was fairly slim. We covet Country Style for their freshness and old fashioned prototype. We plan to hit up Dixie Donuts for the eclectic taste buds and see if they will renew our donut excitement. However, with all that said, we are glad they have opened up in Richmond. We'll go back in a few weeks and see if they have figured a few ways to smooth out their system.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    24
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Going again...soon”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

My first trip to Sugar Shack was a delight, even at 630 in the morning. The place is very cute and nicely decorated. I had the maple bacon doughnut and strawberry later in the day. Both choices were excellent. To me, the doughnuts had a wonderful texture. The doughnuts were not heavy, greasy, or bread(y) but not like Krispy Kreme which has no depth. I read an article a few months ago about Country Doughnut near RIC. The magazine article said, "You can't miss going to Country Doughnut." Trust me, yes you can! If you need a sugar fix get it at Sugar Shack!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberdny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Addition to Richmond”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I just heard on the news the other day that Richmond VA has the second most number of restaurants per capita in the US. I believe it, as they are everywhere and many are not chains, but locally owned. So its no surprise to see this cool little donut shop open across from the Maggie Walker Governor's School on Lombardy Street. The donuts here are great. An example that I tried is Caramel Glaze with Seat Salt (is that trendy enough?). The donuts are made right in the back. These donuts are more substantial than Krispy Kreme, but not as doughy as County Style Donuts (a Richmond institution). Also available are coffee and sodas such as Boylans. This is strictly take out as there is no place to sit inside or out. Parking is available but limited. They are open from 6 or 6:30 am till 9:00 (Richmond not being a late-night city).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holy grail”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I'm pretty sure we found the Holy Grail, and this is it. whatever you do, don't miss the maple bacon donut. it's truly amazing. we went there with grandparents and young kids and it was awesome for everyone

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurapainter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond virginia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“City donuts that are the best”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This place some of the best donuts I have ever had...check out the maple iced ones they are something else...different donuts available all day long so there is always a surprise when you stop by....this is the best thing to happen to the city in a long time

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lauthehut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Shack Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Shack Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing