We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG! So good, So fresh, so much variety!”
Review of Sugar Shack Donuts

Sugar Shack Donuts
Ranked #5 of 24 Bakeries in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OMG! So good, So fresh, so much variety!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is a small place, and the outward appearance of the building is so deceiving! The donuts are so fresh, and the different toppings are so different and delicious! The donuts have the texture, the bite, the airiness and lightness of a Krispy Kreme, but they're 2x as thick! If you're in the area I highly recommend you give them a try. Be advised they often sell out on the weekends, so you'd probably have better luck during the week.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlana Kittyboo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    24
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Corolla, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Find!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I finally found out where this place was and I was not disappointed. The donuts were great and I will be making a return visit the next time I am in downtown Richmond!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terrell f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a shack”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Super cool space. Great dugouts! (Not cake styled) good coffee (including pour over style). There are no seats. There is a standing bar. It's a small space but very inviting. Great experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Best donuts in Richmond”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fortunate enough to work right across the street from this place. Mostly I get coffee, Zeke's from Baltimore, but donuts are incredible. Apple Fritters are huge and run only about 2.50. Red Velvet Cake donut, Dragon's Tail, Samoa Donut (think they called it Old School) are amazing. Just a nice business including customer service. They have opened up a second branch downtown and apparently are considering opening up others. A bit of concern here that they are moving too fast as they are talking about centralizing their baking operations. Prefer knowing that my donuts are fresh and not shipped in from a central location. If they are busy prepare for the tiny parking lot to be packed tight.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clemente71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mystery”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We read the reviews on this place and find it a complete mystery. We went again last week to give it another try since our first experience was not stellar. Hoping it was a new opening process issues they were ironing out.....but no, it has been several months and the same issues exist. IF you are going to get testy when we ask you what the flavors of the donuts are, make it simple....label them. Don't sigh and behave as though we haven't got any brain cells to tell what the combo is-is it peanut butter and chocolate or is it hazelnut? The guy at the cashier was as clueless as the last person running the register the last time we were there. He had no idea if they even sold iced tea. Love the interior atmosphere, the donuts are good, but the overall experience is painful. They are close to where we live and we want to love them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Shack Donuts also viewed

 
Richmond, VA
 

Been to Sugar Shack Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing