We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treat for the Eye and the Tummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Foushee

Chez Foushee
Ranked #34 of 1,603 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rapidan, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Treat for the Eye and the Tummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Richmond friends interested in architecture were the ones to recommend this restaurant to us, in part because of its interesting architectural features in a re-sued space. It is right downtown, a block away from the famous Jefferson Hotel, but it is tucked away on Foushee (Foo-shay) street and quiet enough inside to have easy conversations. On top of that the food was delicious and good value and the service very attentive. The food is creative but with classics from the Old South including gumbo, grits and a very tart lemon tarte. And of course sweet iced tea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    32
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Thoroughly Enjoyable Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had dinner there last Thursday night, celebrating my birthday. Somehow we had never eaten there before, but the combination of the food, the service, and the atmosphere was perfect. A thoroughly enjoyable evening. The flash-fried oysters with celeriac (celery root slaw), the mahi-mahi with crawfish and shrimp, even a tasty $30 bottle of Chardonnay. We prefer a quiet, elegant atmosphere (where you can talk without shouting), one which is unpretentious and where the staff is friendly and down-to-earth. This was one of the nicest evenings we've had in a long time. We'll be back...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Love it, love it, love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I wrote a review for Chez Foushee in February of this year. We were in Richmond again this past weekend and went back for Sunday brunch. To our huge amazement Chuck and Josh remembered us and even asked my daughter how nursing school was going. Now THAT is astonishing! The food as usual was excellent. My sister and I ordered the grilled tomato and asparagus with poached eggs which was delicious, our friend ordered the shrimp creole with green chili cheddar grits and cleaned his plate, my daughter ordered prosciutto, manchego and roasted pepper sandwich which she said was fabulous. We all had either Bloody Mary 's, coffee and/or mimosas. Total bill was around $115.00 not including tip. Service great, atmosphere beautiful, highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwprairiefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a GREAT Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Four of us were visiting Richmond for the first time and staying at the nearby Linden Row Inn. Walking back from dinner at Tarrant's Cafe our first night there, we passed Chez Foushee, and all agreed, based on how charming it looked, that it might be worth considering for dinner on the following night. I checked some of the online reviews, which were very positive, and made a reservation. So glad we went there. Definitely one of the best meals I have had in a while, and from the compliments I heard from my friends, they were pretty wowed by the food as well. Nice wine list with decently priced selections, interesting (and very tasty) menu, plus very friendly, efficient service. I had the brussel sprouts with bacon and blue cheese to start, followed by one of the specials that day -- flash fried softshell crabs with potato gnocchi, roasted corn, bacon, tomato and shrimp in a shellfish cream sauce. I have never before had a soft shell crab dish that was this delicious. My husband had the cochen de lait in smoked tomato sauce, which was served atop green chili cheddar grits. He thought he hated grits, until he had these, and he raved about his meal. The other two at the table had the duck breast over spaetzle and the scallop with foie gras app as a main. We finished the evening by sharing a piece of the classic lemon butter cake. The staff was totally friendly, and our waiter was great from start to finish. My only less-than-glowing comment would be that the table was a little tight for four people, and the chairs are not the most comfortable, though that didn't take away from a fabulous experience. It would be worth the 6-hour drive back to Richmond just to have dinner again at Chez Foushee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An overlooked little gem for weekend dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We hadn't had dinner at Chez Foushee in ages because it's easy to overlook - they serve dinner only on Thursday through Saturday. It's mostly a business lunch and catering place in a changing but still mostly bare neighborhood. I should point out that they have free parking available.

We arrived a little early for our reservation but were greeted warmly and promptly seated. We started with cocktails from the short but well chosen cocktail list. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly, and super efficient.

We started with browned brussels sprouts salad and fried sweetbreads, both of which were excellent. We then had a couple of selections from their reasonably priced wine by the glass listing to go with our mains of a fine duck breast and a cochon au lait entree -- good luck getting that anywhere else in Richmond!

You should finish any meal here with the lemon butter cake, which is a cake in the same way cheesecake is a cake. It's sort of a creamy, not too tart fallen custard atop a crumb crust.

Throughout the meal the service was impeccable. The timing of the dishes was ideal, and the server was attentive without being overbearing.

More people in Richmond should stop by for dinner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelers828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Foushee also viewed

 

Been to Chez Foushee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing