We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty place, average food”
Review of Chez Foushee

Chez Foushee
Ranked #74 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Pretty place, average food”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is really one of the prettiest restaurant spaces in Richmond, nice for a romantic dinner and there were lots of couples there on Saturday night. Nice lighting and white table cloths, but they put disposable table paper cloths on top which seems inappropriate for a high end place like this. We have had Chez Foushee on our list to visit for more than 2 years based on reviews, and maybe I expected too much. Food was a 3 rating for us. Good assortment of appetizers, but the crab bisque was average and the liver pate had a very odd mix of flavors that was not good. Entrees are limited, about 8 choices, all $25 and higher. I wasn't really excited about any of them and ended up with something I didn't like, the fettuccine, again not a good combination of flavors and the fried oysters were way over salted. My husband had duck and thought it was very good. The service was also very good, but the entree took a long time for the late dinner. We really have too many favorites in town to come back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OBXBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    34
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate here before going to the opera. My Brussels sprouts salad with blue cheese dressing was especially tasty! Our waiter was knowledgeable about what dishes were gluten free and helped me find food to eat.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Great Restaurant in Richmond”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

During a weekend stay in Richmond I was looking for a place to have dinner on a Saturday night and everywhere i went had a wait of 30 to 40 minutes. I kept looking around and with the help of my mobile Trip Advisor app I found Chez Foushee and made a reservations using Open Table. I found street parking nearby after circling the block once. I was greeted and seated the minute I walked in the door. The first thing I have to say is I was dressed casual and this restaurant is a little more formal in my opinion, the staff was friendly and made me feel very welcomed. The architecture and atmosphere of the restaurant is someplace I would associate with taking someone out on a special occasion. The food was fantastic, I had a steak and saved room for the lemon cake. It was a great dinning experience. I consider the prices to be very reasonable for the service and quality of the meal served here. I would definitely come back to Chez Foushee if I am ever back in Richmond

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alandres154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice place for a great meal”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We liked the ambiance when we came in, the lighting, the design. Whatever we ordered was first rate, be it starters, entrees ( and save room for dessert !). Service was professional and friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJZimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lunch or Dinner Chez Foushee is great”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I've been to Chez Foushee for lunch and dinner and it's become my go-to place for delicious food and conversation. Quiet, intimate, even romantic, the ambience is special and the service aligns with the atmosphere. As for the food, I am never disappointed. In October I had the seasonal butternut squash soup, a fresh salad, & chocolate dessert and smiled all through the evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DIANA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Foushee also viewed

 

Been to Chez Foushee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing