We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Bistro with a French flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Parisienne Bistro and Cafe - CLOSED

La Parisienne Bistro and Cafe
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Local Bistro with a French flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We enjoyed a business dinner at this nice bistro on a Thursday evening. Hardly any crowd and a very nice view of downtown at Canal & 12th. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly and very efficient. The food was excellent (I had the Barramundi, others had Atlantic Salmon and a filet). We all had desert (Crème Brulee, Chocolate Mousse) and they were also very good. The chef came out to thank us. A very nice evening and we made an excellent impression on our guests. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Word of caution: the parking deck next door closes at 7 PM.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We've eaten here a couple of times and thoroughly enjoy it. The service is excellent - the staff is very friendly and welcoming. The menu is particularly creative, with lots of fun-filled crepes and other specialties. My last meal included a spicy lamb entree that was really extraordinary. Give it a shot - you will be pleased!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Huge crepes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Went there on a quiet weeknight and experienced some delicious crepes. They were constructed flat rather than rolled as you might expect. My spouse had seafood while I had one that was filled and covered with all sorts of tasty delights too numerous to mention. Service was excellent. Parking is best catty corned in a garage which the restaurant will validate for you.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An amazing find in Richmond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This pretty little bistro is situated in the outskirts of Shockoe Bottom, at 10th and Canal. The setting is modernish, but white tablecloths are the rule, along with a fairly formal table setting. The owner is French, the cook Belgian, and quite honestly the combination of the two is greater than each one alone could be. The food is fresh, inventive, superbly cooked and artfully presented by a well-trained wait staff. The appetizers are works of art, and generally are unusual, not the things you would expect to find on a menu in Richmond. The wine selection is excellent, yet unpretentious, with the wines selected for flavor and value, rather than price.. Plan to have a great time, great food and service, and lots of personal attention from the owner. After 6:00pm, parking is available on the street (free), or in the deck across the street (ticket will be franked by the restaurant).

I can pretty well guarantee you will be planning your next trip before you leave the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmeachm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Try to find this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Situated on a corner on Canal Street this place could easily be missed.

We went there for early evening drinks and a light meal. Ali and Jamal were wonderfully friendly and made sure that we enjoyed our visit.

The food on offer was great and there was a good selection of wines and cocktails on offer. Their Cosmo's were excellent......

Seek this place out....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArabianVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Parisienne Bistro and Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing