We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views!”

City Hall Observation Deck
Ranked #49 of 173 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Amazing views!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

There are two City Hall buildings in Richmond. I have to tell you my husband and I appreciated the observation deck on the 19th floor of the NEW City Hall building; you can walk all the way around and see so much of the city. The views are amazing! But, being lovers of grande architecture, this new building does nothing for us....all steel and glass. Now, if you go across the street to the OLD City Hall you will see something totally different. Completed in 1894, this building is high Victorian Gothic design and it is magnificent! The building is dominated by two large asymmetrical towers, reminiscent of town halls in Europe. The building takes up an entire city block! The first floor is open to the public Monday thru Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and we never expected to see the type of architecture and design that was inside. The interior centers around a large skylit atrium surrounded by four levels of cloister-like arcades, linked by a grand staircase. We were soooooo impressed! Don't miss it! You can visit both City Halls free of charge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank travelexplorer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Expansive Views for Free!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Happened upon the observation deck by chance but we were glad we did. The views are great, from the top you can see the entire Richmond area on a clear day. To get to the deck just enter the new city hall, get in any elevator and press the "OD" or observation deck button.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Va
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Great view terrible place but misery loves company. I have been to the city hall which the mayor refers to has the becon of hope and it is when you go to the observation deck you just want to jump off and fly like a bird out richmond.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank svencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of downtown's best secrets”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Downside: it's only open during business hours. But it's free and really impressive. Look North toward the huge Richmond International Raceway complex, South over the river, West into Monroe Park and the Fan, and East to Church Hill. There's a lot of history to see from one spot!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank AMElias2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place to start”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

You need to know this is in the NEW city hall across the street from the OLD city hall. The views are awesome

Helpful?
3 Thank edbt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Hall Observation Deck also viewed

 

Been to City Hall Observation Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing