We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“went to reminisce”

Virginia War Memorial
Ranked #22 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mechanicsville
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“went to reminisce”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I have many friends listed on the walls from the Viet Nam War. I am amazed at the care and cleanness of the display. It is truly a credit to Virginia

Helpful?
Thank blazerkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very informative and well displayed”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Though I am a "northerner" I enjoyed the display of events taken from both points of view. I learned a lot from it. Sad to know that so many people died during this war.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Remembering Virginians who gave their all.”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Virginia War Memorial sits on a hill overlooking the James arrived, and is close to the Federeals Reserve Bank and Tredegar. The site contains the statue of Memorial, along with the eternal flame, and the names of Virginia residents who died in World War II, Korea, Vietnam and the Persian Gulf etched in marble and glass panels

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sjcruiser36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful dedication”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were sight-seeing and went up to see the memorial. A volunteer came out and gave us a tour and told us a lot about the memorial. We were so impressed by how Virginia has captured the memories of their fallen soldiers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mary lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,004 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“A monument to honor those of VA who gave of themselves”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Great monument/memorial, however, not so easy to get to with all the traffic. Keep sharp while driving to it, we missed the entrance and had to make a trip across the river twice before entering the grounds.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Virginia War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing