We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great after a small hiccup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Efland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great after a small hiccup”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Very clean room. Exercise room had plenty of air and equipment worked. Pool was clean and quite. Only problem was after checkin, the room we were assigned was next to very noisy children and an absent parent and our room key didn't work. Corilina assigned us a new room that was great. Also the beds aren't that hard. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxkeeton, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Thank you for your review. This past weekend we had some youth sport teams staying with us. I appreciate your understanding as one of the few things we as hoteliers have very little control over is other peoples behavior. I am extremely pleased with Carinas performance! I am glad to hear that she assisted you in a fast and proffessional manner. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    183
    52
    20
    20
See reviews for
230
113
33
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Most customer service staff I've ever encountered, clean rooms, service great.

Room Tip: Excellent wireless in rooms, very good breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentleman_Farmer990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed one night with my husband and parents. This hotel is really beautiful. The beds were comfortable, room was clean. The breakfast room was large and the food was great. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxkeeton, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Thank you very much for your review. And thanks also for uploading the pics!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I was very impressed with my two night stay at this hotel. The room was very well decorated, and extremely quiet, which I requested, and was placed in one on Friday afternoon. He stated that there were two separate buildings, and the first buildinghad a night club, which was noisy, and recommended I be placed in the second building, which is much quieter. The only slight problem I had was the remote for the tv was not working, which I told the girlworking the front desk on Friday evening. She was very concerned and willing to give me a working remote. She brought a new remote to my room Friday evening. I highly recommend this hotel , and will stay here next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countryd00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxkeeton, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Thank you very much for your review! I would also like to inform you that the nightclub is now closed. The rooms in the main building are a little larger but do not have the interior brickwork or the stone walls as the second building. If you request the second building at the time of reservation we will certainly try to accomodate you. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

The Best Western Governor's Inn was a blessing for my husband and me and two grown daughters for four nights. The room was large and very clean. The linens on the beds were elegant and made one feel special. The breakfast was a full menu with eggs and sausage, waffles, bagels, etc., all served in a clean, comfortable room set aside from the lobby. Speaking, of the lobby, it was very welcoming and the hotel staff was very welcoming and accommodating too. The brick-exterior of the hotel was a nice touch....adding charm to our stay. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone! And the rate we got for four nights was unbelievable, especially for the quality of what we enjoyed!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg3mjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I concur with kariann11. The facility is beautiful, quiet, and my room was very large. The parking lot is set back from the street which adds privacy and I didn't worry about my car and its contents. The breakfast was good with lots of choices.

The downfall was the internet. The wireless connection in my room was extremely slow and the business center's connection was worse. I couldn't even access the Best Western website to provide feedback or book another room.

My room did not have a do not disturb sign so while I was at breakfast, the maid entered my room. Also, you cannot take food out of the breakfast area which may be a concern for some people but not a problem for me.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxkeeton, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for your review. Right now we are using a T1 connection. We are looking forward to FIOS when it becomes available in our area. At the present time the bandwidth is divided between the guests that are online at the same time. I appologize for the slow connection. I do hope to have this corrected in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2011

I've stayed at this hotel many times and enjoyed myself. This time however, after asking for linen service, the non-English-speaking housekeeper handed us the sheets to change the bed as if she couldn't understand the request. The manager was unable to get her to the room after I notified him, and after an hour, I chased the housekeeper down myself. After being overcharged for the room, I could not get resolution via email or phone, so I stopped by. The manager was EXTREMELY rude and has no business working with people. During our stay, my friend also witnessed him being derogatory and condescending to the staff while she was in the business office trying to print a document (which, incidentally she was never able to do). The manager, Chuck, is enough to make me take my business elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1VAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxkeeton, Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
My name is Joseph Joyce. I replaced this Manager in January 2011. I have since been in contact with this guest and she has stayed at this property since this posting.
I would like to inform everyone that this particular "Manager" is NO LONGER EMPLOYED HERE OR WITH ANY OTHER BEST WESTERN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,014 reviews
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Governor's Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Address: 9826 Midlothian Tpke, Richmond, VA 23235-4812 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
#18 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing