We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Pulaski, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful staff!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Numerous trips are made throughout the year to a physician in the Midlothian area for my husband, and each time we stay at The Governor's Inn. The staff is very caring, very accommodating, and assists with any needs we might have. As an added bonus, the rooms are quite large and are very clean. We enjoy the breakfasts, as well.

I cannot express my thanks to the staff enough, especially to Joe, the manager, and to Mary Anna, who is absolutely wonderful to my husband and me. Their length of service at The Governor's Inn attests to how this hotel is run and how well the staff is respected.

My husband and I highly recommend this Best Western and confidently give it an "Excellent" rating.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth7810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    183
    52
    20
    20
See reviews for
230
113
33
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
md
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We just returned from a two-night stay with our girls lacrosse team. The hotel was very nice--our room was large, clean, and had a lot of character with brick walls. The staff, including Corina at the front desk, Cynthia the sales manager, and Joe the hotel manager, could not have been more accommodating. They were helpful and reassuring when we encountered a problem with the travel agency's reservations. They recommended a nearby restaurant for our large group, and also helped us arrange for a team dinner at the hotel. The other staff members, including the woman at the breakfast room and the housekeeping staff, were equally as friendly and hardworking. Breakfast was fine, and the pool was great. I just can't say enough about the staff though...just extremely nice people who have a lot of pride in their jobs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Efland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Very clean room. Exercise room had plenty of air and equipment worked. Pool was clean and quite. Only problem was after checkin, the room we were assigned was next to very noisy children and an absent parent and our room key didn't work. Corilina assigned us a new room that was great. Also the beds aren't that hard. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxkeeton, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Thank you for your review. This past weekend we had some youth sport teams staying with us. I appreciate your understanding as one of the few things we as hoteliers have very little control over is other peoples behavior. I am extremely pleased with Carinas performance! I am glad to hear that she assisted you in a fast and proffessional manner. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Most customer service staff I've ever encountered, clean rooms, service great.

Room Tip: Excellent wireless in rooms, very good breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentleman_Farmer990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed one night with my husband and parents. This hotel is really beautiful. The beds were comfortable, room was clean. The breakfast room was large and the food was great. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxkeeton, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Thank you very much for your review. And thanks also for uploading the pics!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I was very impressed with my two night stay at this hotel. The room was very well decorated, and extremely quiet, which I requested, and was placed in one on Friday afternoon. He stated that there were two separate buildings, and the first buildinghad a night club, which was noisy, and recommended I be placed in the second building, which is much quieter. The only slight problem I had was the remote for the tv was not working, which I told the girlworking the front desk on Friday evening. She was very concerned and willing to give me a working remote. She brought a new remote to my room Friday evening. I highly recommend this hotel , and will stay here next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countryd00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxkeeton, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Thank you very much for your review! I would also like to inform you that the nightclub is now closed. The rooms in the main building are a little larger but do not have the interior brickwork or the stone walls as the second building. If you request the second building at the time of reservation we will certainly try to accomodate you. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

The Best Western Governor's Inn was a blessing for my husband and me and two grown daughters for four nights. The room was large and very clean. The linens on the beds were elegant and made one feel special. The breakfast was a full menu with eggs and sausage, waffles, bagels, etc., all served in a clean, comfortable room set aside from the lobby. Speaking, of the lobby, it was very welcoming and the hotel staff was very welcoming and accommodating too. The brick-exterior of the hotel was a nice touch....adding charm to our stay. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone! And the rate we got for four nights was unbelievable, especially for the quality of what we enjoyed!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg3mjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,014 reviews
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Governor's Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Address: 9826 Midlothian Tpke, Richmond, VA 23235-4812 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
#18 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing