We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Sumter
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had to leave the Comfort Inn, they gave us smoking rooms. The room we stayed in was smelly, we had to put a sheet on the chair, and there were cracks and stains on the walls and the carpet. After, spending a miserable night, I went down to the Best Western. Mr. Joyce and his staff were very professional. They found us rooms and recommended an excellent restaurant. We were very pleased with our stay and plan to make the Best Western chain our choice of hotel when we have to travel. Again, Mr. Joyce and his staff went far above and beyond their duties.

Room Tip: We had rooms on both floors, they were all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph J, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Kenneth B,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback. I'm pleased you found your stay here with us enjoyable. I'm happy we could meet your needs and thrilled that we exceeded your expectations. Our staff prides itself on providing a great experience for our guests and I can't wait to pass on your kind words to them.

Thanks again for your great feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joseph Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    183
    52
    20
    20
See reviews for
229
113
33
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chilhowie
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Great place to stay. The building and rooms are very attractive. We have stayed here several years during the state basketball tourney. The staff was excellent and very friendly. We were placed in the second building because of the loud music from the night-club. The first main buuilding also had a strong smokers odor. Ask to be placed in the second building out at the pool.
Driving into Richmond and back is a chore because of the toll booths. Unless youi are familar with them you might miss them because of the fast traffic. Then youi might get a ticket. Trying to get to them at night is even worse unless you are familar with the roads.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the 2nd building. No loud music and no smoke odor. Beware of toll booths that c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickchilhowie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I travel on my job and it is important for me to find a property that is safe secure and to make my "bean counters" at work happy, a good value. Beat Western Governor's Inn in Richmond is that place for me. Joe Joyce and staff go all out to be sure all of their guest have totally satisfying
experience. The rooms are clean and spacious, the bed's comfort is perfect, the rooms exude a kind of Colonial Class, hence the name Governor's Inn.I have now stayed at least 6 times and multiple nights and so far it has been and is Always a Great Stay.

Room Tip: The swimming pool is located in the rear building area so keep that I mind when making a reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a good place to stay in the area. Our room was more than adequate, although it would have been nice to have been provided with more than one towel per guest. It was however clean and comfortable. The hotel is old and rooms are located in different buildings which is ok but not ideal. The breakfast was good - it was our bad luck to be sharing it with a large group of soccer players!!!! Very good value overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastallife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The whole building smelt of cigarette smoke. The whole hotel was very nice and very very clean. I just didn't like the smell. They should install some smoke eaters all around the building or something. Other hotels that have smoking rooms don't have this problem, why do they?

Room Tip: Stay in the non-smoking BUILDING ( not just N/S Room ), but you still have to check in and out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollerubmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph J, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear ollerubmat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our staff takes pride in providing an exceptional guest experience to all visitors of our hotel. I'm happy that you were pleased with the property and found the accommodations to your liking. On the other hand, I sincerely apologize for the smoke smell you encountered during your visit. I'm disappointed that it adversely affected your stay and I appreciate you bringing the issue to our attention. We take your comments very seriously and are currently in the process of converting the hotel to a 100% non-smoking property. I do hope that your recent experience hasn't permanently marred your opinion of our hotel and that you will come back to stay with us. (We'll definitely make sure to reserve a room in our totally smoke-free building!)

Again, thank you for your honest and helpful feedback. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Joseph Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandston, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed here just one nite,a Saturday night and it was very exceptional. The lady at the front desk was polite and very informative. My room was on the first floor across from the dinning area. There was a little bit of bumping upstairs but nothing to complain about. I had a suite with a jacuzzi tub which was nice. There was a nice flat screen tv, HBO cable, internet access, a sofa and very comfortable bed. Everything was great but I wish I would of known about the bar/club on the other end of the building which would explain the traffic and the loud music. Overall the room was clean and comfortable and I would definately return and recommend to others. One of the best rooms I've stayed in!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise from bar and bumping frome upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph J, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Dear Lakida C,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our staff takes pride in the level of service we provide and I'm happy to pass on your compliments to our front desk agent. Thank you for mentioning our clean, comfortable rooms and we are very pleased that you found the amenities to your satisfaction. I sincerely apologize for the disturbance from the bar/club. We are currently taking steps to better inform our guests of the noise potential and we will make sure to have a quieter room for you on your next visit. On a brighter note, we do consider it a huge compliment that you would refer fellow travelers to us and we really appreciate your recommendations. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

After reading so many excellent reviews from other customers who have stayed at this hotel, I was very disappointed when I arrived at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. The person who greeted me was not enthusiastic and she did not provide a warm welcome. The room was big; however, the hotel is old. The hallways were very wide,but the carpet was stained and there was a stale smell of smoke, even though it was a non-smoking floor. I had dinner at Tripp's, which I highly recommend, Breakfast at the hotel was mediocre. I would not recommend this hotel for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanB2640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,014 reviews
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Governor's Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Address: 9826 Midlothian Tpke, Richmond, VA 23235-4812 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
#18 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing