We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very nice place to stay! We stayed on the 3rd floor and the room was huge! The bathroom was newly tiled and there were granite countertops! The bed was comfy, in room microwave, coffee pot, fridge, huge flat screen TV. The next morning we had an awesome breakfast. They even have a make your own waffle station! Yogurt, coffee, fruit, assorted cereals and breads! Couldn't really ask for anything more.
The only slight odd thing is that the front entrance is located far off the main road and is a little confusing to find at night. Once we found it was fine and when we left I noticed it's not that difficult in the daylight! Haha Other than that.. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

My son has been accepted to University of Richmond. This hotel was about ten minutes away from the school and has a great breakfast. The rooms where clean and comfortable. The road is close, no noise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

What a great place to stay on our last night of vacation! We were warmly welcomed as we entered and surprisingly advised that we were given a complimentary upgrade in our room. The spacious suite was decorated beautifully, including a bar sink, comfortable seating, a desk, and TV in the sitting area. The bedroom itself was equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, TV, and lots of space. The hot breakfast was nicely done. Even though it was a busy Sunday morning, the staff in the breakfast area were pleasant and very helpful. Great coffee...not served in the hot pots, but rather one gets it right from the coffee machine. So it was piping hot and delicious. If we pass through this area again, we will be sure to stay at Governor's Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph J, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Nina L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. My staff takes pride in providing a great guest experience and I am thrilled that we could exceed your expectations with our comfortable guest suite. I'm glad you found our deluxe continental breakfast to your satisfaction. Our breakfast attendants do a great job making sure guests leave full and happy and I'll be glad to pass on your kind comments. Thank you again for your awesome review. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joseph Joyce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I've been traveling a lot to ft Jackson and ft lee. Over the past month I've been in 3 other hotels in the Richmond area that are comparable in price to this one. This hotel was built with space in mind. I got a room with 2 queen size beds and the room was huge compared to the other hotels I stayed at, in the Richmond area. Needed more towels, called the front desk and Joseph the manager had them sent up to the room right away. Staff was great. All of them where very friendly. If you want a clean, spacious and friendly experience stay here. I really don't have nothing bad to say for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirespider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph J, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Wirespider,

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and amenities we have to offer. Our staff takes pride in providing great customer service and we really appreciate your comments. I'm glad we could meet your needs and hope to see you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joseph Joyce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This hotel was an excellent spot for my family and me. It's excellent having a hot breakfast with spacious rooms. Having a refrigerator and microwave in our room was very helpful. I do recommend this hotel to others staying in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerOHPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph J, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear travelerOHPA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great review! We are glad that you had a pleasurable stay here with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort and amenities we have to offer. We are happy that we were able to provide you with a first-rate guest experience and we thank you for the recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joseph Joyce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had to leave the Comfort Inn, they gave us smoking rooms. The room we stayed in was smelly, we had to put a sheet on the chair, and there were cracks and stains on the walls and the carpet. After, spending a miserable night, I went down to the Best Western. Mr. Joyce and his staff were very professional. They found us rooms and recommended an excellent restaurant. We were very pleased with our stay and plan to make the Best Western chain our choice of hotel when we have to travel. Again, Mr. Joyce and his staff went far above and beyond their duties.

Room Tip: We had rooms on both floors, they were all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph J, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Kenneth B,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback. I'm pleased you found your stay here with us enjoyable. I'm happy we could meet your needs and thrilled that we exceeded your expectations. Our staff prides itself on providing a great experience for our guests and I can't wait to pass on your kind words to them.

Thanks again for your great feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joseph Joyce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Great place to stay. The building and rooms are very attractive. We have stayed here several years during the state basketball tourney. The staff was excellent and very friendly. We were placed in the second building because of the loud music from the night-club. The first main buuilding also had a strong smokers odor. Ask to be placed in the second building out at the pool.
Driving into Richmond and back is a chore because of the toll booths. Unless youi are familar with them you might miss them because of the fast traffic. Then youi might get a ticket. Trying to get to them at night is even worse unless you are familar with the roads.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the 2nd building. No loud music and no smoke odor. Beware of toll booths that c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickchilhowie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
9.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Richmond West at I-64, VA
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Governor's Inn

Address: 9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
#18 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £64 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing