We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family of five!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were referred to this hotel because most hotels do not accommodate a family of five, we would have to book two rooms which is definitely out of the budget. We received a king size bed with a full size sleep sofa, it was just right for us and reasonable in price. The comp. breakfast was awesome, lots of variety.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Governors_Inn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Best Western Plus-Governor's Inn in Richmond, Va. I am very happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your family of five. Our hotel prides itself on customer service and I am so happy that my staff accommodated your hotel needs. Please do stop back to visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

I only stay in Best Western's and most offer the same, high quality experience, offering similar decors and accommodations. The Governor's Inn is one of a handful of BW's which offer a mix of the familiar upgraded amenities with a touch of the history of the original place still intact. The painted faux-woodgrained doors and wrought iron gates are welcome touches of its past. I have stayed there at least a dozen times over the last year or so and the staff has always warmly welcomed me and answered my occasional requests for assistance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Governors_Inn, Night Shift Supervisor at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Gary M,

Thank you for taking the time you share your review. I'm glad that the BW Governor's Inn reaches the high Best Western standard to which you've become accustomed. Our staff takes pride in providing our guests with great service and we appreciate the compliment. Thank you for mentioning our unique colonial-style ambiance. It's the little touches around the place that that give our hotel such character that our guests seem to enjoy so much. Thanks again for your feedback. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Tanise Johnson
Night Shift Supervisor
Best Western PLUS Governor's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel has a great location.Hotel is on a busy road BUT it sits off the road enough that you do NOT hear traffic at all.Easy access to highway & close to MANY restaurants as well as LOTS of places to shop. Hotel was clean, staff was helpful & nice.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursulafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Governors_Inn, Night Shift Supervisor at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Ursulafan,

Thank you for submitting your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. I'm glad that we could provide the comfort and convenience that guests seek. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff. We take pride in providing great customer service and we appreciate your comments. Thanks again for giving us your feedback. We'll look forward to seeing you next time.

Sincerely,

Tanise Johnson
Night Shift Supervisor
Best Western PLUS Governor's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Nice hotel that's set back from the road so it's quiet. Brick outside, brick and stone inside rooms. Pretty. Nice woodwork on ceiling. Firm beds. Breakfast was very good and the girl providing everything was an exemplary worker. The tv did not receive The Weather Channel as stated on the available list and the lighting in room could have used higher wattage bulbs. Should have been a night light in the bathroom. Minor fixes. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Governors_Inn, Night Shift Supervisor at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear William K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to have been able to serve you on your recent trip to Richmond and happy you enjoyed the atmosphere and amenities we have to offer. Thank you for your comment regarding Penny, our breakfast attendant. She is indeed a wonderful employee who takes pride in providing the utmost in service. Our guests love her and I'll be happy to let her know that she's still surpassing expectations. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused by the Weather Channel not working during your visit. I understand how not having access to it could negatively impact planning the day and various activities. We believe this was an isolated incident and hope that, despite the hiccup, you will return. Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Tanise Johnson
Night Shift Supervisor
Best Western PLUS Governor's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

convenient to Vets hospital, wine store, Wal Mart & Sam's club, Olive Garden & Mexican Restaurants. What more could you want? Non smoking rooms are clean and comfy, breakfast is great, and computer room has fast internet..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Clay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Governors_Inn, Night Shift Supervisor at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Clay B,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you chose the BW Governor's Inn for your lodging needs. We are happy you enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms, convenient location, deluxe continental breakfast and other amenities we have to offer. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope that you'll decide to come back and visit us the next time you're in Virginia.

Sincerely,

Tanise Johnson
Night Shift Supervisor
Best Western PLUS Governor's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were in Richmond for a graduation and needed a quiet yet convenient place to stay. The rates were very reasonable and instead of staying one night and looking further, we stayed the four nights and were very happy. The breakfasts were also very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Governors_Inn, Night Shift Supervisor at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear SandyMom62,

Thank you for submitting your review. We're happy you found us on your hotel search and thrilled to have ended up as your last stop. I'm glad that we could provide quiet & comfortable lodging and a convenient hot breakfast for you and your family. We hope to be your first stop on your next visit to the city!

Sincerely,

Tanise Johnson
Night Shift Supervisor
Best Western PLUS Governor's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel had all the niceties I've come to expect from a BW Plus and then some. Typical great staff, a breakfast Denny's should copy and a location close to everything. Then... I actually did a double take when I walked into my room and discovered brick walls and a wood trimmed ceiling. A great touch especially for the relatively low cost of the room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: No smoking building, behind the main building, is just that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OpaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Governors_Inn, Night Shift Supervisor at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear OpaSteve,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled to have exceeded what you've come to expect from a Best Western Plus. I'm glad you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer and our one-of-a-kind guest rooms. Guests seem to love the colonial-style ambiance that the exposed brick and wood trim provides. It's good to know that you're no exception. Hopefully, it is enough to bring you back to stay with us on your next visit to Richmond. Thanks again for your review!

Sincerely,

Tanise Johnson
Night Shift Supervisor
Best Western PLUS Governor's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Governor's Inn

Address: 9826 Midlothian Tpke, Richmond, VA 23235-4812 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
#18 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £67 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing