We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good time was had by all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Lugoff, South Carolina
1 review
“A good time was had by all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our room was very clean and neat. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Charlot, in the kitchen was wonderful... This was the best hotel we stayed at during our one mounts stay in Richmond, VA. And we stayed at four other hotels...

Room Tip: Building "B" by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding the Best Western Plus Governors Inn located in Richmond, Va. I am so pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and the Superior Customer Care you received by my team. Charlot is an asset to our company and I am so fortunate to have her as part of my team. I will definitely pass on your feedback to her as I know she will be very grateful to hear your feedback. We hope that you will return to see us in the future. Again, thank you so much for providing us your feedback as we value our guest and what they have to say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    172
    49
    17
    19
See reviews for
213
110
31
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. Even the TV is upscale. Best of all (for me), the wireless speed: a) works and b) is fast! Staff are exceptionally helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was not outstanding but more than adequate (I mean, really, who cares?). I'll be staying here every time I'm in Richmond from now on.

Room Tip: Third floor. Quiet and smokeless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
I wanted to take the time to thank you so much for taking the time out to provide us your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding the Best Western Plus-Governor's Inn located in Richmond, Virginia. We really are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. I know that means a lot to myself and my team. I will definitely pass on your comments to my team. I hope that you will definitely return to see us in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time out to leave your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel rates 9.5 out of 10. Almost everything was excellent, including the room cleanliness, the staff service, the breakfast, the general condition of the interiors. Only a couple slight negatives: the exterior looks a little old, and as some rooms allow smoking, there are guests hanging around smoking outside some entrances. Highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Richmond area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding the Best Western Plus Governors Inn located in Richmond, Virginia. I am so happy to hear that we ranked very highly in our Guest Satisfaction. It really means a lot to myself and my team to see that our hard work really pays off for our guests. I understand the dislike of the smoking rooms. We are in the process of deciding if we would benefit from removing the smoking rooms. Again, I want to thank you for providing us your feedback and we look forward to you returning to see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Beautiful motel in an interesting setting. Lots of brick trim and architecture make it visually interesting. We ended up in a handicapper room (3rd floor, with an elevator) and it was exceedingly spacious! Anyone traveling with a wheel chair would not have a problem with this room. Very clean, comfy, firm beds. Air conditioner in room worked very well. Breakfast had a nice variety and was always well tended to. Entire staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that the motel is connected to a bar/restaurant and they had LOUD live music Friday night, plus it was hard to find a space in the parking lot after dark because of all of the people at the bar. I heard the music up on the 3rd floor! Even when they just had karaoke on the other nights it was still loud, but the parking lot at least wasn't as full. However, I would still stay here again, as it is a great facility at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanga1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding the Best Western Plus Governors Inn located in Richmond, Virginia. I am very pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and our hotel. I am sorry to hear about the noise and the lack of parking you encountered due to the lounge while you were staying here with us. We will speak with the Owners and Management of the Lounge and see what steps we can take to ensure that our guests are happy when they are open on the weekends. Again, we want to thank you for staying with us and hope that you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We always stay here whenever we are in the Richmond area. They always are very accommodating and willing to help you in any way they can. The free breakfast food is great. It had a wide selection of cereal, toast, bagels, muffins and more. They have make your own waffles that are great. The eggs and sausage were good too. Fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, just about anything you would want is there with an attendant that if nice and friendly. The rooms and amenities are great too.. They even have free hot coffee and cookies in the lobby. The price is great too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn located in Richmond, Va. I see that you were pleased with the services that we provided you during your stay from Service to the Breakfast. Thank you for allowing us to provide you with Superior Customer Care. I will share with my staff your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Again, thank you so much for leaving your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Quiet property, friendly staff, easy check-in, plentiful parking. Clean and comfortable room, soft bed/pillows, nice cable selection and standard amenities. Morning breakfast included an assortment of cereals, fruit, bagels/muffins, waffles and the like. Pool was open and clean.

Great choice and value for a short stay - we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjbzmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I wanted to take the time to thank you for providing your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding the Best Western Plus Governors Inn located in Richmond, Va. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we provided you with Superior Customer Care. I will definitely pass on all these great comments to my staff. I know they will be pleased to hear what a great job they are doing. Again, thank you for providing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, NJ, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Would stay at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, VA again because their Staff was professional, polite and caring to our requests and the breakfast area was kept exceptionally clean and well stocked with food and supplies.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Josephine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I want to take the time to thank you very much for your feedback that you provided on Trip Advisor regarding the Best Western Plus Governors Inn located in Richmond, Va. I am always so glad to hear when a guest has really enjoyed their stay. It means that my team is doing a great job at providing Superior Customer Care to the guest. I hope that you will return to visit us again in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
7.8 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Address: 9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
#18 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing