We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

Malabar Indian Cuisine
Ranked #227 of 1,602 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I have come here countless times and the food is not bad. It is never crowded and good. Even though it is nice, I prefer Anokha down the road WAY more. Not saying that this restaurant is bad or anything though.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We went there after the Richmond Marathon - the food and service were great. Definitely would go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Helplawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I eat at Malabar Indian Cuisine on a regular basis. We find the food to be consistently delicious and the service excellent. We enjoy the small family, friendly atmosphere. We have tried other Indian Restaurants in Richmond but inevitably return to Malabar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great tradition, great Indian cuisine”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Malabar is one of the older Indian resturants in Richmond. We like it because it has a great base selection but the chef doesn't mind a hange now and then. While many other Indian resturants have stared in Richmond, Malabar remains our choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
506 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Naan is the best”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I'm not a huge fan of Indian food, but my daughter is. So we gave Malabar a shot last weekend. I had the butter chicken, and I can't even pronounce what my wife & daughter had, but we all liked our dishes. I really like how they ask you how much spice you want in it. But the highlight is the Naan. I've been to India before on a business trip, and visited 4 cities. I had Naan with my meals everywhere I went, and love it. But....the Naan I had at Malabar Saturday was the best I've ever eaten. Its awesome.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malabar Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Malabar Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing