We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of everthing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Museum District Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

A gracious hostess and innkeeper Anna was great at detailing for us upon our arrival all the best attractions and restaurants. We were served wine and cheese and more wine. The cottage was very private albeit small and tight quarters for all of us and our luggage.

Breakfast was delicious with fresh pastries from a local bakery, fresh juices, eggs and bacon and chicken sausages. Unfortunately the social aspect of a B&B stay was not as expected as it was a one-way conversation with one of the other guests (a soliloquie of self-centered banter for almost an hour). We usually experience interesting back and forth dialogue with other travelers, but not this morning. Aside from this it was a pleasant stay.

Despite the not so positive recommendation of the "Blue Goat" restaurant by the owner, we did venture out there with our good friends who reside in Richmond for a taste. Food and service were very good, but pricey.

Room Tip: You are across from the Richmond Museum of Fine Art and a stones throw away from the Chapel dedicate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

Very comfortable, hostess most accommodating, breakfast excellent, cheeses good &wine though crackers are a plus. All in all unobtrusive hospitality and attractive. None of that Victorian clutter that sometimes afflicts a B & B. THE best B & B I have ever used!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessreevesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Anna made us feel as if we were friends visiting in her home almost immediately. We were welcomed with good wine and cheese and a most friendly attitude. She gave many good tips on restaurants and activities in Richmond. Breakfast was excellent. We will be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage house, which is very quiet and private - a most comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATravelingVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Anna knows the area very well and will not steer you wrong! The Carriage house was wonderful! The wine and cheese afternoon was delightful. She even called a friend to help me with advice on genealogy! Wonderful place to stay in Richmond, would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R.l. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Outstanding B&B stay. Across the road from art gallary and museum and a walk from restaurants and cafes. Anna is fantastically helpful - took us into town to drop us off at a concert and lots of advice on places to eat. Wine cheese adn conversation a real treat. Was full when we decided we wanted another night but recommmended another great B&B. Cannot recommend hihgly enough

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Staying at the Musuem Bed & Breakfast when coming home has
become a tradition and one that we hope lasts for many years to come! God is in the details with ironed linens, the BEST breakfasts,
wine & cheese spreads every afternoon that leads to meeting some
of the most interesting people from many different places! We have
stayed in most of the rooms and love them all! Can not even imagine
staying anywhere else when coming back to Richmond! One of the best B & B's we frequent, always leaving us yearning for our next return stay!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYVirginiaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

At the risk of repetition I echo the other reveiwers for this B&B. We were half way through a 25th wedding anniversary trip and this was the best place we stayed at. The soiree of cheese and biscuits enabled us to meet other guests ( and neighbour). The conversation was fun and stimulating. Anna was a perfect host and it was the little things such as explaining the wines and cheeses and helping us to get the most out of our two day stay. We had the coach house which was stlightly separate to the house but suited us fine.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redcoat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
2.0 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
2.6 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
912 reviews
2.6 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum District Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum District Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2811 Grove Ave, Richmond, VA 23221-2402
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1922 guesthouse is in the heart of Richmond's Museum and Fan Districts, the city's most vibrant and historic neighborhoods. The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts is directly across the street. We're two blocks from Carytown, a unique shopping district featuring eclectic shops, restaurants of every description (two 4-star restaurants), the historic Byrd Theatre, neighborhood pubs and live music venues. Seven minutes to downtown. Plush comfort, gourmet breakfasts and evening wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Museum District Hotel Richmond
Museum District Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing