We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Museum District Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ArlingtonVA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Across the street from the VMFA and only blocks from Carytown, this location is perfect. We stayed in the carriage house on a cold and snowy weekend. It was cozy with a lovely little porch, but because of the weather our only venture to the main house was for a delicious breakfast. That was an opportunity to enjoy a fabulous breakfast and see the rest of the property which was comfortable and tastefully furnished. Anna was very helpful with suggestions and directions. We had events to attend at the VMFA for two days, and we could not have been in a better location. It's a lovely walkable neighborhood, and worth a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    11
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
137
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore area
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We spent 2 delightful days at the Carriage House which is a separate building, just right for us Seniors. Anna really goes the extra mile to treat her guests well. We requested the dinner and museum package. Our vouchers for the Dale Chihuly exhibit at the VMFA, along with a gift certificate for dinner at the Amour (French) restaurant, were ready for us when we needed them, both within walking distance from the B&B.
We both left feeling very pampered and certainly look forward to a return visit!
Parking is off Colonial Ave. behind the building, not off Grove.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired_travelers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I loved Museum District Bed & Breakfast. Anna is a welcoming and generous hostess. She allowed us to check in early so as to meet up as soon as possible with our son driving up from Raleigh/Durham. He was staying at another B&B but was welcomed as if he was staying at Museum District B&B. There are several varieties of gourmet cheese and wines set out in the afternoon that are delicious. We had the carriage house which has it's own little porch with a table and chairs. Walk across the street to the museum, it is wonderful and has great dining on the 3rd floor. A plus is the museum store! Have the French onion soup at CanCan in Carytown. I will return to Museum District Bed & Breakfast again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful house! We stayed in the carriage house, our own little place in the garden, which was perfect. Breakfast was superb, all fresh, locally sourced and organic where possible. Cheese and wine was delicious. Anna does not skimp on anything and we found our stay to be an absolute delight.
Location is very good too, obviously close to museums but also easy walking distance of Carytown with many restaurants, shops and the Byrd Theatre.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solna, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was my second stay at the Museum District Bed and Breakfast and I loved it. We stayed in the Carriage House, which was cozy and comfortable. We loved having a porch where we could sit in the morning and read. Anna, the innkeeper, was extremely helpful and gracious. She made us feel very welcome. The bed and breakfast is in a lovely location--just across the street from Virginia Museum of Fine Art and a few blocks away from Carytown and its wonderful restaurants. Breakfast is divine every morning; wine and cheese in the afternoon a welcome diversion. I can safely say the Museum District Bed and Breakfast is my home away from home! Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is small, cozy and comfortable. It's located in the back garden so you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimiGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This time we stayed in the Carriage House, which was excellent.
The hostess is very pleasant and helpfull.
It is close to most things I found worthy of being near.
You are being welcomed with wine and cheese.
The breakfast is made from local produce.

Room Tip: The Carriage house is off the main building with separate entrance and you can enter through a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tord M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Y
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Can never say it enough. There's NO other place we would stay
when coming home to Richmond than here at The Musuem District
B & B! From the moment we enter the door, till we have to say so long, it's perfection at it's highest level!
Beautiful home, fabulous location, the BEST breakfast ever, wine and cheese that not only is delicious but, results in meeting and chatting with some of the most interesting people from all walks of life. The Innkeeper Anna leaves no stone unturned when welcoming guests to
her place and making sure it's one of the most memorable stays you will ever have!
We always think it's our best trip until we enter the doors for another return stay. She knocks it out the park everytime with her Southern Hospitality which makes this one of the best gems we have
found and favorite B & B to return too...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYVirginiaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
2.0 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
2.6 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum District Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum District Bed & Breakfast

Property: Museum District Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2811 Grove Ave, Richmond, VA 23221-2402
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1922 guesthouse is in the heart of Richmond's Museum and Fan Districts, the city's most vibrant and historic neighborhoods. The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts is directly across the street. We're two blocks from Carytown, a unique shopping district featuring eclectic shops, restaurants of every description (two 4-star restaurants), the historic Byrd Theatre, neighborhood pubs and live music venues. Seven minutes to downtown. Plush comfort, gourmet breakfasts and evening wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Museum District Hotel Richmond
Museum District Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing