We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Il Gabbiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Termini Imerese
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We were traveling with 3 children, and the hotel offerered us an apartment, which was very spacious (2 very large rooms, with 2 single beds in each, and a large bathroom). Each room had powerful air conditioning and televisions.

We were staying in Termini Imerese to be near the airport for our very early departure. At 5 am, it took only 40 minutes to get to the airport.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast included yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, breads, crackers, pastries, hot chocolate, tea, coffee, juice, milk and most happily, made to order espresso and cappuccino.

The hotel has a very good restaurant (Ristorante Balistreri), where the food was excellent and the waiter very nice.

The town itself is not particularly interesting. But we spent some time in Cefalu, Caccamo and Monreale. We spent a lovely afternoon at the beach of Campofelice (recommended by our hotel), and thoroughly enjoyed our lido (Lido Bonito).

We had a great meal at L'Angolo dei Sapori (highly recommend). We tried Trattoria da Giovanni (which is listed in the Lonely Planet guide), but were very disappointed. The food was decent (no menu, so you have to be adventurous), but the staff (2 men) were overwhelmed and the kitchen couldn't keep up. After waiting an hour at our table for our second dish, we paid and left. Others (locals) were complaining as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frugalm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    40
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
12
30
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

Very disappointing indeed. The only fact I agree with in other reviews is the cleanliness which was good. Location is very poor - to call itself in Termini Imerese was stretching it somewhat. It was in a very poor suburb beside a main railway line with frequent noisy trains, a very busy major road with beautiful views of the oil refinery and chemical works. There was no restaurant open and staff were unhelpful when asked for suggestions outside the hotel. Their attitude was 'Why are you asking us - that is not my job to tell you this'! Rooms were very basic. Breakfast was very poor - coffee seemed to have been stewing for days, croissants were several days old, fruit was wrinkled and the fresh rolls ran out as we arrived (8am) with no response to our requests for more. Staff were bad tempered and were continually in a bad mood which in turn reflected very bad management. This report seems so negative but we stayed in 7 hotels in Sicily, 6 of which were wonderful. This was by far the worst of our stay and was also considerably more expensive. My advice would be to drive on and avoid this one if at all possible.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — staff attitude, location and value
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cooltravelling2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fradis, Responsabile reception at Hotel Il Gabbiano, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Dear Customer, we regret that everything you have described is not true (just read the other reviews) but we understand that not having granted an extra discount of 10 €, which claimed at all costs, even beating his fists on the reception desk, This has resulted in his review that there had already been announced. Cordially greet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

We stayed at this place for one night. It was very quiet. The breakfast options were just right. Our local host wanted to help us carry our luggage to our rooms but hotel staff was uptight about this and did not allow her to come with us unless she stayed briefly.... just to help carry the luggage upstairs ( no elevators). The hotel looks new and rooms were very clean and furnished nicely. It was perfect for a short stay.

  • Liked — clean environment
  • Disliked — no elevators
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batacbabyboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

I especially recommend this hotel if you are picking a car up late at the airport and don't want to drive in Palermo, which is very wise. About 30 - 40 minutes from the airport and well signed from the autostrada. It is near the railway line and in a slightly run down suburb a little out of town so I would not think it is a resort hotel. Most of the other guests looked business types.

We stayed one night on our way to Syracuse. Ample parking. Excellent rooms, clean, lots of space, comfortable beds, very pleasant staff. Breakfast was pretty average. Very quiet.

I would also strongly recommend the restaurant. Initially it did not look very promising, the hotel was quiet ,almost dead, and the restuarant not open until 8.00pm, and we assumed we would be eating almost alone. Arrived 8.10 the place was humming with locals, and we had a really excellent meal with great local ambience. Bottle of good wine, two licquers and three courses for €52. A strongly recommended stop.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Miner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welwyn garden city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2006

My partner & I stayed at the Gabiano for two nights & I was surprised on how good the hotel was.Termini Imerese is not famed for its Hotels,infact it only has two (Grand Hotel Delle Terme being the other one).As we were only in town for a couple of nights visiting friends & family I didn't want to fork out the 190 Euros a night for the Grand Hotel (although it is worth it as its a super 5* that serves fantastic food in oppulent surroundings,been there for diner & coffee & to use the Health Spa).However, with much trepidation,I booked us in at the Gabiano,our first impressions were that the decor was a bit dated (very 80's,although in true Italian fashion,theres marble & ceramic floors throughout),but we were met at the door by a very nice guy called Marco who got us quickly checked in with no fuss.We had a drink at the bar & then noticed how incredibly clean the place was & how cool it was (outside temperature was 32c & after leaving London at 12c it was a bit difficult to adjust straight away).
Once we got to our room, again we remarked about how clean everywhere was, from the bathroom to balcony,not a speck of dirt even the bed sheets were a brilliant white (just like the TV ads say).As you may guess,I am a bit fussy when it comes to cleanliness & have stayed in many hotels (from 5* rated in London & Paris etc etc to M3 travel lodge) due to my job & I can safely say that this is the cleanest Hotel I have ever stayed in.
The bed was vey big & very comfy & the room itself was a great size,though basic (but what do you expect for 88 Euros a night), the view from the balcony was amazing & looked straight at the sea & Termini Imerese,which although is a bit of a scruffy place,its fantastic & full of Sicilian charm,character & culture,its also rammned full of History as you'd expect from a town thats 2000 years older than Rome.
The only down side to the hotel was its breakfast,not a great deal to choose from, & it is a bit far out of town if your to do it on foot (20-30 mins,although its perfectly placed for the Train station as its only 3/4 of a mile away) so either book a cab (you must get reception to do that) or hire a car (bear in mind that this is Sicily & there driving is somewhat hairaising,the car drivers think there Michael Schumacher & the scooter & motor bike riders all think there Valentino Rossi)However,its only a 5 minute car ride away.As far as the breakfast is concerned,you can go to any of the local bars & eat very inexpensivley,I suggest an Arrancino,which is a scotch egg type casing filled with either rice & mince (alla Carne) or with cheese,ham & butter (al burro),one of these & a fantastic cappucino will st you back 2.50 Euros.
To sum up i'd say that the Gabiano is an excellent base with nice polite staff,its very clean,well kept,basic & cheap making it fantastic value for money & perfect for short stays or weekends & i'd definatley stay there again,infact I will be staying there again in August for 2 more nights.

Helpful?
6 Thank 34-38-82-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Termini Imerese
3.9 mi away
Hotel Tonnara Trabia
Hotel Tonnara Trabia
#1 of 2 in Trabia
114 reviews
6.8 mi away
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
#2 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
771 reviews
6.6 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
#3 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Domina Zagarella Sicily
Domina Zagarella Sicily
#1 of 5 in Santa Flavia
1,346 reviews
5.9 mi away
Torre Artale Hotel
Torre Artale Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trabia
86 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
#1 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Gabbiano

Property: Hotel Il Gabbiano
Address: Via Liberta' 221, 90018 Termini Imerese, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Termini Imerese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Termini Imerese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Gabbiano 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering rooms with free Wi-Fi, Il Gabbiano is located in Termini Imerese Gulf, between Palermo and Cefalu, and is just 1.3 km from the railway station. The hotel rooms are soundproofed and feature tiled floors, air conditioning, private bathroom and satellite TV. At the Gabbiano are served a buffet breakfast, served in the breakfast room, and a restaurant serving typical regional. There is also a sun terrace and an internet station with a laser printer. Comfort and Superior rooms with a minibar and a BluRay player Bike rental and service. Garage with point-and charging station for electric cars It is just five minutes drive from the port of the city, 8 km from the archaeological site of Himera, and about 2 km to the nearest public beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Il Gabbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Gabbiano Hotel
Hotel Il Gabbiano Termini Imerese, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing