We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Family You Wish You Had”
Review of Siena House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrita di Siena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Siena House
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Family You Wish You Had”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

To start, we felt like we were a part of Malvin & Amanda's family. The moment we arrived, we were greeted by Malvin asking if we wanted to join them for lunch. This was no simple 20-30 minute lunch, but a 1-2 hour family meal on Easter where there were lots of stories and wine flowed. After that we had some touring to do around the Tuscan countryside. Because it was Easter, all the restaurants were closed on the way back and we were very hungry. When we got back at approximately 9 PM, we went downstairs to ask for a lite bite to eat. The response was a huge plateful of meat, bread, and olives with a jug of wine. What kindness!

We haven't even commented on the accommodations yet! The location is breathtaking with the view of the rolling hills of the Tuscany countryside are picture perfect. They have even placed a few lounge chairs to relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the views. The house is nicely decorated as Amanda is an excellent artist. Her work is showcased around the home including in the rooms. The rooms are very spacious and again have those picture perfect views. There really isn't a scale large enough to rate how wonderful this bed and breakfast was. This has our highest recommendation!
Mike & Jennifer

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJGUSTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
202
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This place is truly breathtaking - from the moment of arrival it has a genuine and invaluable wow factor.
The setting is perfect, rolling Tuscan countryside at its best, the varied wildlife being all that one can hear at night. It forms a perfect backdrop to relaxing in the pool or hammock and for the breakfasts (which vary each day as they utilise fresh local produce and are out of this World).
Our suite included a sumptuous lounge area, awesome walk-in rain type shower, a bath with stunning views, fantastic original artwork and most importantly a huge comfortable bed bathed in the light from the many windows which frame the picture postcard scenery.
The location is fantastic, central to so many beautiful and varied spots.
Finally, the owners could write the definitive guide to running a guest house. They immediately make you feel welcome and relaxed in their lovingly restored home, paying attention to every detail and catering to any individual requirements but never being intrusive. They made our stay in Italy incredibly memorable, recommending restaurants and day trips which we will struggle to ever surpass.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HermioneYule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We were very impressed by the exceptional hospitality and the beautiful house. The combination of an excellent style of house and rooms with the cordial, humorous behaviour of Amanda and Malvin made our stay in Siena house to a highlight in Toscany. You can feel that they love this house and love to welcome guests. We will come back!
Thank you!
Claudia & Rolf

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratschlagrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Forget about what you know about guest houses and that is a very good place to start with Siena House. Walking into Siena House you are entering in what must be one of the most exclusive private homes in Tuscany with not a single expense spared on either it's restoration or it's decoration.

Entering the grounds through the electric gate you are greeted by Malvin and see the comforting and neutral facade of this centuries old farm. You get the feeling something special awaits inside but you cannot prepare yourself for the breathtaking contemporary decorations, furnishings and painting from Amanda (Malvin's better half), in fact this interior would look equally at home in Oslo, London or NYC.

You immediately get the feeling that this is their home which they share proudly and happily with guests.

Greeted by a nice glass of Prosecco we went inside and up the stone staircase entering into an amazing common area which is filled with natural light. staying with our 4 year old we asked from Cortona room which has a lovely bath, again no expense spared and the room tastefully appointed with contemporary furniture and finishings.

Coming back downstairs you enter an amazing open plan kitchen and dining room which Malvin and Amanda share from time to time with guests for dinner which is also where breakfast is served. Whatever is local and is fresh forms the basis of breakfast and Malvin somehow suprises you each morning with fresh bread or some creative tart (we loved his orange zest, marmalade and local ricotta tartlettes).

Siena house is pleasantly remote and after a weeks travelling around Tuscany you will eventually realise that one of the best views around is from Siena House's own garden. Being nicely remote it would be ideal to have a few bikes available to spontaneously explore the area but there are bike rental opportunities nearby.

Mind, body and soul well nourished!

Room Tip: Cortona was wonderful with a nice bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ermoalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My husband and I went here for a vacation in March. We spent a long time looking for a relaxing - central location in Tuscany where we could explore different cities during the day and then we found Siena House! It was absolutely perfect and far more than we could have ever expected. The location is ideal to drive to different towns during the day and the House itself is wonderful. Malvin and Amanda are the perfect hosts and made our stay absolutely wonderful. Having been to Siena House I would never stay anywhere else in Tuscany - it is a hidden gem and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbsf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

As soon as we saw Siena House's website, we decided to stay there....and it was a great decision!!!
It is totally different to what a typical Tuscany accomodation looks like. Beautifully restored Leopoldina house is full of stylish details and designer furniture. We stayed wtih our little 2 yr daughter in Cortona room (the largest one). The breakfast was colorful: fresh fruit, freshlly squeezed orange juice, ricotta cheese, house made bread (made by chef Malvin) etc. On a nice March morning it was being served outside, where we enjoyed beautiful views. We got a really fine recommendation where to go for a dinner - Il Fornacino, 10 minutes by car from Sienahouse. That was a real feast. Next evening Malvin - the owner of the place, set up a fire at a fireplace in the huge living room, prepared a delicious plate of local specialities and we spent a memorable evening watching movies on the big screen. Our 2yr daughter was very happy since she had a playful company of Malvin and Amanda's little daughter.
Amanda's reccommendation for a trip to Pienza (most wonderful landscape) was really great surprise.
We have been really travelling a lot for the last ten years, but we have sincerely never met such combination of high quality lodging and so wonderful hosts. Thank you once again Malvin and Amanda...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zeljkadurovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This is not just a hotel or B&B – it’s the home (you wish you had) away from home. The accommodation is very well styled, clean, tidy and extremely comfortable – giving it a great “luxury homely” feel. The location is excellent with close access to some of the most beautiful towns and scenery in Tuscany. The owners/operators couldn’t be more helpful and welcoming. They have great suggestions of things to see and do in the area (e.g. the thermal pools in winter – do it!). Malvin and Amanda (the owners) speak fluent English so there are no communication issues for those who don’t speak Italian. They don’t just offer accommodation, but also open their home to you so you can use their kitchen or have a dinner with them. Malvin also cooks a fantastic range of breakfasts – you won’t need lunch! This was our best accommodation and experience during our four-week stay in Italy.

Negatives = Leaving.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Cortona room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean-BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrita di Siena
0.4 mi away
Locanda dell'Amorosa
Locanda dell'Amorosa
#2 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
17.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
22.9 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.9 mi away
Albergo la Foresteria
Albergo la Foresteria
#1 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Fontelunga
Villa Fontelunga
#1 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena House

Property: Siena House
Address: Localita Pietra Bianca 140 | Podere San Carlo, 53049, Torrita di Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely old Tuscany on the outside, easy modern living within. Playful, functional and comfortable. Imagine the dream home that Holly Golightly and Peter Rabbit might share... and you've got the feel of the place ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siena House Hotel Torrita Di Siena
Siena House Province Of Siena, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing