We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
“Green paradise”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed in 2 badroom apartment. Everything was clean and fine. Bad was so soft for me, but for most people ok. Sourounding is totaly perfect, peacefull and relaxing. Location is greate you can easy go to Fireznze, Pisa, Siena. Toscany was our quick honeymoon and we hope to visite Castellare again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    250
    49
    27
    15
See reviews for
211
291
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had the best vacation at Castellare. The surroundings are so lovely and we spent every evening looking at the sunset while our 16 months old son slept calmly in our apartment. It is a great place for both couples and families (we have tried both). Even when there are other guests you have a lot of privacy and time for yourselves. We stayed across two other families with children at our son's age and it was a big succes for them to wave at eachother. There are a few playgrounds around at the farmsteads. They are old but work.
We chose to eat breakfast at the mainbuilding - the make a great coffee and make good croissants and other bakeries. It is nothing spectacular but has a nice atmosphere and good service. We would like to return in a couple of years.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liselotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bled, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed in 4 bedroom apartment in Casa Nuova. Apartment was spotless, beds very comfortable. The location is just perfect for a relaxing stay in Tuscany. With breathtaking views from the swiming pool. We loved the bar and shop next to the restaurant.

Room Tip: There are a lot of families with small children coming to stay at Castellare di Tonda. We came to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikam0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Beautiful landscape, nice location, but the best note is for the horse back riding experience.Thank you Jessica, the best guide possible! Diego my horse was lovely and...fast!!!!!
If you are planning to go to CT for vacation, you can not miss this! and if you can, go for the superior apts, much better than the classic ones!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benedetta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaione
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

After a hectic walking tour of Florence and earlier Venice our stay at the CastellRe de Tonda came as a welcome relaxing break. The location is serene and the landscape just breathtaking! The staff at this venue are very courteous and the dinner experience is to look forward to.

The apartment blocks are well furnished and spread out to ensure privacy. The private pool was a boon to enjoy a swim and take in the sun (with a beer if you please)!

However one needs a car if one is staying here as the walk from the apartment to the restaurant could be irritatingly long especially after a sumptuous dinner. The laundry too is quite a distance away. In short one must ensure mobility if one wants to enjoy stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFMmusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The small apartment (1 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath) was lovely, not overly furnished, just as one would expect a farmhouse to be. Everything was adequate and comfortable. There is even a laundry to use if needed. The bed was great and the birdsong was delightful. We stayed in a building within walking distance to the Reception area and restraurant, where the food was excellent, fresh and very local. The morning waiter Colegga could not have been nicer and brought the most delicious cup of cappuccino to start the day with. The desk girls in reception were very kind and willingly helpful, most spoke some English. There is also a small store for simple basics and a deli/bar for lighter fare with a wonderful little seating area that had a small fire going all of the time. Everything we needed was pretty much available. There were beautiful and very clean pools at each farmhouse, but we didn't use them since the weather wasn't cooperative.
Castellare di Tonda produces an excellent array of wines, their Chianti was most enjoyable and very reasonably priced, as was their Casalone. I also bought some of their locally produced honey and wished I'd been able to bring more back home to enjoy. They also produce a fine olive oil. As a working and producing farm, Castellare di Tonda incorporates agriculture with tourism for a fine balance. It is somewhat isolated, while that is also it's charm. But it is also quite close to many wonderful hill towns like San Gimignano, Volterra and even Siena was not that far, nor is the sea. All of which made great day trips. It would be very useful to have your own auto for flexibility, (which we did not), however a friendly local driver named Peitro was provided who took us to many of the local sites at a reasonable rate. Since he didn't speak english and we didn't speak italian there weren't a lot of long discussions, however we did communicate adequately to get along fine. In the horse stables, Jessica helps visitors enjoy their equine experience, and being from New Zealand, was a helpful interpreter when we needed. There are lots of riding trails that we used for walking.
The spa treatment facility was divine, with heated seats in the foot baths, wet and dry steam rooms, a ice room, a hot tub (altho a bit on the coolish side), a resting room and beautiful views. All the fine amenities one would expect. The massages Rajiv provided were top rate and great for working out the muscles from all of the walking we were doing. We also took a very fun cooking class at the La Piazzetta del Borgo in nearby Iano, which was very hands on and then we got to enjoy the delicious handmade cheese and sage ravoli and tiramisu we had prepared for lunch. Overall, my experience at Castellare di Tonda was perfect. Not sure I would have changed a thing. (Well, maybe the weather, it could have been a bit warmer, but that's Spring time anywhere!) It is not posh, but it is lovely. The dining was delizioso! The grounds, spaciuos. The staff were all genuinely helpful and kind, which seems to be a part of how Stefano and Alessandra Scotti do business. One of their employees commented on how Stefano treats everyone with true respect, which I found to be reflected in the positive behavior of every employee I encountered in my week long stay.

Room Tip: If you don't have a car, request one of the buildings closer to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My family of four have just finished our 5 night stay at casellare di tonda as part of our holiday to France and Italy.

We booked a 3 bedroom superior apartment and we greated warmly upon checking in by the staff which was nice but unfortunately we were very quickly disappointed when all the resort services which are promised on the web page such as fishing at the lake, cooking classes, art classes, winery tour were not conducted regurlarly (if at all !) which was very disappointing considering we were going to stay 5 nights here.

We were advised that cooking classes were only done on a Thursday - we were checking in on Friday and leaving on Tuesday. We had repeatedly asked by email to book the activities weeks and months before we visited and were told not to worry and not to book and were never advised that hardly any of the services would be operating during the period we were staying at the resort .

The best thing about the resort is the location which is in the middle of some beautiful countryside and is a great place to explore tuscany. That is the best I can say about the place.

The apartment was nicey located on the top of a hill along with around 4 other apartments as part of the one building.

1st night - no hot water and had to wait around for a couple of hours for them to turn up to fix to have a shower. 2nd night no electricity - another wait of around an hour after trying to reach them on telephone, 3rd night - no hot water again and had to wait until next day to get someone to fix. It was a real drama to get things fixed and no hurry or urgency on part of staff to fix particularly when we were waiting to go out. Kitchen facilites are basic and had to boil water in a pot as the coffee perculator provided was broken.

We had breakfast included in the rate and I dont know if my wife and I are being picky but I would have to rate the breakfast as the worst breakfast buffet that I have ever had whilst travelling over the past twenty years. Everything was cold apart from the coffee and there is no other immediate options available unless you want to hop in the car and drive 8 to 10 klms to the nearest town.

We ended up checking out a day early due to the ongoing issues with the apartment and the lack of resort facilities/activities which are promised or displayed as per their web and their other corporate brochures. The staff were nice enough on checking out and understood our positon and did the right thing by offerring a discount but it would have been better for them to be upfront on us booking the accomodation that some of the services we were looking forward to with our children such as the fishing and cooking classes were either not available or not provided whilst we were there.

Like some of the other reviewers have said the resort - is not really a resort and is definitely not 4 star. It is a collection of tuscan farm apartments scattered accross the property which are pretty much self contained apartments.

Having said the above, our friends stayed here a couple of years ago and raved about the place - but I think from a review of the other reviews that the place may have lost some of its charm.

If you are looking for self contained accomodation in tuscany - then it is a good place to visit but if you are looking for a 4 star resort and all the services you would expect - then all I can say is that we were terribly disappointed.

Room Tip: It is hard to jusdge which apartments have the best faciltiies or accomodation. only some have wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyBoy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaione
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#3 of 11 in Montaione
377 reviews
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#4 of 11 in Montaione
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
533 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 412 in Florence
327 reviews
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa

Property: Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
Address: Via Cerroni, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Montaione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellare Di Tonda Resort And Spa
Castellare Di Tonda Hotel Montaione
Castellare Di Tonda Resort & Spa Montaione, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing