We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Montaione
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I've just spent 2 nights here with my girlfriend. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and the hotel facilities were superb - the pool is excellent (with a jacuzzi) and we were given a choice of rooms - one in the "old" building or one in the "new" part. We chose the room in the old building as we felt it had more character and was less clinical than the newer rooms. All rooms in the old building have balconies - the rooms in the newer block did not.

The hotel restaurant is excellent - the food is top drawer by anyone's standards and the sommelier was very friendly and gave us some very nice Tuscan wines to try.

The only thing we weren't sure about was why this hotel is in Montaione. It's a pleasant enough village but there really isn't a lot going on there, so to find such a gem of a hotel with such a great restaurant seemed a little strange. There are a handful of other restaurants in the village, and we did find a very nice quirky bar which is open til 2am every night. However, if, like us, you have a car, you can easily drive to plenty of other places in the region which are of greater interest (San Gimignano was a particular highlight).

Overall I would thoroughly recommend the hotel as a base from which to explore Tuscany. After a day out driving/walking etc, it's great to return to somewhere like this and sit by the pool for a while in the late afternoon. The main thing that sticks in my mind is how well we were looked after by the staff.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room in the old building rather than the new block over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed with our 14 month daughter at the beginning of June, and loved this hotel. Was an easy 50 minutes from Pisa airport, in a small town with phenomenal views, a couple of cracking restaurants, a bar with a beer list to kill for, a great pizza takeaway, and locals so friendly it was often just a pleasure to walk around and soak it up.

We stayed in the newer part of the hotel in a large room, with a big modern bathroom and a pleasant view out into the countryside. Room was immaculate, and very comfortable indeed. A crib was included for free and as the room was big, there was plenty of space for all of us without feeling cramped.

The pool was beautiful, and we swam every day, even at the beginning when we were told it would be too cold!

The staff made our daughter feel like a celebrity guest, and the way she was treated throughout was fantastic.

We left after four nights with a heavy heart, and indeed, due to being massively disappointed by a "five star" hotel in Lucca, ended up returning at the end of holiday for an unplanned, and very welcome additional two night stay.

If pushed to come up with a criticism, the Wi-Fi is really expensive, but really, this wasn't an issue for us.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimmyHuntspill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I booked through an agent, and then asked the hotel for a room in the old building with views over the Tuscan hills. I arrived after midnight and was disappointed with the room on the top floor as it was hot (the a/c had not been left on) and the room was "brown" is the best way to describe it. However in the morning my concerns evaporated as the view was perfect and the brownness although evident was more in the heritage style of the hotel which dates back many hundreds of years. Yes there are newly restored rooms, and there is the new extension which by all accounts is up to date, but has no views, but it is up to what you want.

The restaurant was reasonably good but the menu was the same every night which is not so good. The lunch menu was poor and the pool was not served by staff except on one occasion in the six days that I used it. The bar was not always attended so you had to get help. So I suspect that they lost trade to other restaurants in the area because of this. The breakfast could have had more variety. So many not quite so good things BUT the location is excellent, in the centre of an attractive town but not on the tourist trail so very peaceful. The staff were generally very friendly. I would give it the four stars out of five that it declares.

I have told all of this in a guest survey so the management are aware. Some of it could be due to the Italian economy and keeping staff numbers to the minimum, some due to the size of the hotel. Some might be due to lack of finance to finish the room updates.....I d ont know!

Overall it was an enjoyable stay, just could have been a little better. It is the little things after all that make a good stay a great stay.

Can I say that Esmeralda who dealt with my booking requests was first class, but so were most of the staff.

Room Tip: Depends what you want modern rooms with little view of great views. Speak to them - Esmeralda was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cobhamchimaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzomannaioni, Direttore at UNA Palazzo Mannaioni, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for having devoted part of your time for writing a review about our hotel.
Guests comments are useful for improving ourselves.
We are very pleased that you appreciated the view from your room, the kindeness and professionalism of our staff, and that you tried our restaurant.
We are sorry that you weren't satisfied of our menu a la carte that includes 6 choices of starters, 6 of first courses, 6 of second dishes, 6 dessert, a menu concerning the kitchen noble Tuscany, variety of meats and fine cheeses, a vegetarian menu, and 3 tasting menu of € 45,00 €,60,00 € and € 65 ,00
We wish inform you that our hotel is officially a 4 star hotel.
Taken good note of your judgement on the whole positive, your opinion is an opportunity for improving our standard with the goal of satysfying you completely during your next stay..

Wishing to have you again as guest, I send you my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

+
Pleasant location
Swimming pool
Friendly staff

-
Breakfast mediocre - needs improving
Old-fashioned tv in room - needs updating
Smallest shower I've ever seen
Very expensive bar - charged 60 euros for 2 brandies the name of which I'd not heard of
Hotel does not tell you there are free parking places available nearby
Nearest road could be very noisy
3 star pretending to be a 4 star

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonerGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzomannaioni, Direttore at UNA Palazzo Mannaioni, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thanks for having stayed at our hotel that you consider it is in a pleasant position, that you appreciated our swimming pool and kindness of our staff.
We are sorry to learn that some of the services didn't satisfy your expectations, but your comments have given us the opportunity to continue to improve our standard in order to make sure that you will be completely satisfied the next time you choose to stay with us .
We inform you that very closed to the hotel there are some parking free of charge and some where you need to pay.
The whisky that you drank at our bar is an ISLAY FUSION aged 21 years , t hat's the reason why the cost is 30.00 Euro, but we also have whisky of 5.00/7.00/10.00 and 12.00 €. , and other more expensive. The Shower in the Palace has a standard size of 72x72.
The hotel has 47 rooms, the historic building is in 1500 and has 27 rooms in the old style, modern structure built 3 years ago has 20 modern rooms with LCD TV, and large showers
Wishing to have you again as our guest, I send you my best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Very quaint little town, a base for exploring the area rather than having lots to do. Hotel is clean & comfortable. Bathroom a bit dated. No free wi-fi is a bit of a surprise these days too. Breakfast selection quite basic. Staff very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaughansl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The Palazzo has been as described. A wonderful place with a wonderful surrounding and a very friendly staff.
It was very clean and people very helpful. Anyway we have been there in the pre season and had a special offer. 99 Euros pP including a superior room, breakfast, a wine and cheese tasting and a bottle of wine in the room.
The superior room was not that large we expected. I read before about too small rooms in this rating.
The number of staff was low so they have been too busy. While our wine tasting our server left without coming back because he needed to serve the dinner.
In the restaurant the food was served in a perfect atmosphere, perfect in the way of serving and everything looked perfect. But the food itself did not taste the same level.
The beef was chewy and the lamb racks without too much meat. All in all it was not very surprising.
With all the service, the atmosphere, the building and what else, just the food was a disappointment.

Room Tip: You will be asked for a room you like. Take your time to see them. The prices in the restaurant see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic four-day stay at Una. We would recommend this hotel without any reservations. The view from the balcony of our room was just lovely, the staff were extremely helpful, the breakfast good, and the room very comfortable. The décor is beautiful and you can cozy up to the bar with a glass of wine or sit in the lobby couches and read a book. The only downside is the charge for internet….get it for free at the café down the street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jolotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaione
2.8 mi away
Hotel Il Castelfalfi - TUI BLUE SELECTION
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Tabaccaia
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#4 of 10 in Montaione
186 reviews
6.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Villa Bianca Hotel
Villa Bianca Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gambassi Terme
117 reviews
6.8 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
6.2 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Palazzo Mannaioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Palazzo Mannaioni

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 2, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Montaione
Price Range: £69 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Palazzo Mannaioni 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your UNA Palazzo Mannaioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni Montaione, Tuscany, Italy
Palazzo Mannaioni
Una Palazzo Mannaioni Hotel Montaione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing