We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mooie familievakantie”
Review of Rigone in Chianti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rigone in Chianti
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have visited Rigone for the second time now. Its beautifully situated in the Tuscan countryside. The children love the pool and the space around the appartments. Montaione is a very small, typical Italian town with a perfect bar for ice and a coffee in the afternoon or evening. It has some small lovely restaurants as well. We really like the restaurant at the gasstation. It was recommended by Nadia and we really enjoyed it. The property is centrally located to visit Pisa, Florence, Siena, Volterra etc. Even a trip to the sea can be made in one day return. Nadia is around to help you with questions and suggestions to make a trip or advice a restaurant. It all very pleasant and charming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gwen796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nada H, Proprietario at Rigone in Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Gwen and Family ,

Heel erg bedankt!
See you in a few weeks !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

It is the first time we are staying in Rigone in Chianti.
Everything was perfect. Friendly owners couldn`t be more helpful. Very professional and nice attitude.
Great location. We highly recommend this place. It is extremely comfortable, large, clean and charming.
We had such a good experience that we hope to return again in near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nada H, Proprietario at Rigone in Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you so much ! We are so happy that you were satisfied and that you have appreciated our agriturismo and our hospitality . Tuscany is full of jewels that have to be explored , so we hope to have you with us for your next visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We just got back from one week in Rigone in Chianti, and we wish it could have been two. We stayed in the Populonia villa, which was spacious and well equipped as well as spotlessly clean. Montaione is perfectly situated for day trips into Lucca, Pisa, Volterra and many other beautiful destinations. The view over the vineyards and olive groves into the countryside is like something out of a fairytale!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet2buns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nada H, Proprietario at Rigone in Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Janet , Thank you so much ! I m so happy that you have appreciated our agriturismo and our hospitality . It is nice to have people full of enthusiasm and joy , able to appreciate even the smallest detail of our simple but sincere hospitality. We were so happy to host you here and we hope that you remember your stay at Rigone and our family as a nice and friendly spot of your european holiday . All the best !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent a week at Rigone in Chianti and simply loved it!

Before our arrival, Nada was extremely helpful and responsive in recommending local attractions, booking our train tickets and more. We were delighted to finally meet her after all the emails back and forth.

As we were traveling a long ways to get to the villa, Nada made sure that there was food in our suite upon our arrival including a bottle of red and white wine, and olive oil made on the farm. Fresh croissants were delivered every morning. When it rained (sadly), Nada brought an umbrella to our door, and discussed options for things to do in wetter weather.

The setting is so lovely and unfortunately we couldn't use the beautiful pool (it was early October), but we made the best of it enjoying our coffee poolside in the mornings. It was very relaxing just to be there!

We took Nada up on her offer for a cooking class, and it was such a treat to have dinner in her and Luigi's home to see how the Tuscans live in Montaione. Dinner was delicious!

The Populonia suite we called home for the week was lovely and very accommodating for two couples. We were sorry to leave. ;)

The main issue we had was the Internet signal was very weak and unpredictable. So if you plan to conduct "business as usual" during your stay, this will be challenging. This is likely not something that can be easily addressed given the location, so just keep it in mind.

All in all - a perfect retreat for your Tuscan getaway!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nada H, Proprietario at Rigone in Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Luise , thank you so much for your kind and touching words . I m so happy that you have appreciated our agriturismo. We enjoyed our dinner together and our chat . We learned a lot from you , and had a lot of great ideas and suggestions . It is nice to have people full of enthusiasm and joy , able to appreciate even the smallest detail of our simple but sincere hospitality. We remember all of you with a great pleasure !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Are you in need of privacy and relax, yet do not want to miss the opportunity of living for a short period in the heart and art of Tuscany? Rigone in Chianti won't disappoint you. Not only was the apartment (better say..house?) where we stayed (2 adults + 3 children) for one week spacious, comfortable, nicely decorated and refurbished, but also the location - within short distance from the most famous attractions in Tuscany such as Certaldo, Siena, S. Giminiano and Volterra - is strategic and, even so, far from crowded holiday resorts and structures. Nice and clean swimming pool, large olive tree fields or vineyards where to take long walks in the late afternoon, good wine and extra virgin olive oil produced on the spot .... but, what's more, the kindness of the owners who do love children and make every effort to cope with your needs. No problems to find supermarkets, shops and other services (I had to take the car to a mechanic unfortunately) in Montaione. I therefore kindly recommend it if you are planning a holiday in Tuscany!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Massimo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nada H, Proprietario at Rigone in Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

It was a great pleasure to have you here . Thank you very much for those kind words . My son Nanni is only a few months older than your boy, so it was not difficult for me to imagine the needs you might have , and it was a pleasure to have satisfied them ! We are so happy that you were satisfied and that you have appreciated our agriturismo and our hospitality . Sightseeing in Tuscany.is a must , but I m sure that the children loved our pool more !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was our second stay at Rigone and yet again we had fantastic time. The location provides you with the most wonderful views and is convenient for trips to all major towns (plus there is great ice cream to be had in Montaione). We took the train to Florence this time, which was very easy, too. Compared to last year, there were more mosquito nets (and less mosquitos), the sun loungers and garden furniture had been upgraded and pizza delivery had been added to the list of available services. Although there are 9 units, Rigone never feels crowded and offers plenty of peace and quiet. Nada and Luigi are always happy to help and we are already looking forward to our next stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorinnaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nada H, Proprietario at Rigone in Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Corinna and Family ,

Many thanksfor your nice words . We wish to thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor and , more that all , we wish to thank you for your friendly and nice attitude . (I still remember , and I was so touched , when I saw you takinng care of our gazebo...) We are so happy that this summer again we will be able to give you our wormest welcome and make you discover our last improvements See you in August !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This wine grape and olive farm consist of a handful, traditional farm houses with well-equipped apartments. The farm has a heated horizon pool with a spectacular view and a separated pool for children. The owners are very helpful and service-minded. The property also accepted guests for less than a week at the time – which is not usual.

The apartements are not airconditioned, so while the downstairs kitchen and livingroom was nice and cool, the attic bedroom was really hot. Ask for a fan if staying during the summer. Also, bring moscito-spray - because thre

Montaione is a quiet, small Italian town. It is charming and has a handful of good restaurants. Within an hour or two we could reach Firenze, Pisa, Siena and many other nice places.

Room Tip: The apartments are not air-conditioned, so while the downstairs kitchen and living room was nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larsvedoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nada H, Proprietario at Rigone in Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Lars , thank you so much for your review . It was a great pleasure to have you here and to host your fantastic family . I m glad that you have enjoyed your vacation at Rigone . Sightseeing in Tuscany is a must , but I m sure that your girls loved our pool more ! All the best !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montaione hotels
0.8 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#3 of 11 in Montaione
383 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Il Castelfalfi - TUI BLUE SELECTION
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Tabaccaia
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#4 of 11 in Montaione
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Borgo San Benedetto
Borgo San Benedetto
#5 of 11 in Montaione
56 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Vacanze Colle Bertini
Casa Vacanze Colle Bertini
#1 of 45 in Montaione
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rigone in Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rigone in Chianti

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 12, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Montaione
Price Range: £98 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il podere Rigone is in the Chianti's production area, 1 km from the small Medieval village of Montaione , in the province of Florence . (about 50 km from Florence, Siena and Pisa , 18 km from San Gimignano. The Tuscan Tyrrhenian coast is at about 6o km. Our Farm was foud in the middle of the 19th century. Since then, work has continued with the same enthusiasm through 5 generations. We produce Chianti wine, extra virgin olive oil, grappa and honey. The family decided to transform the old rural complex, dating back to the 18th century, into what is now Rigone: a small, well kept structure able to satisfy even most demanding guests. The Agriturismo consist in three original buildings, which have been left intact in their external appearance, but adapted for their new functions. The “infinity” swimming pool (8mx20) with Jacuzzi is set amongst the olive trees and vineyards, 14H of lawns, woods and land (vineyards and olive groves) , a play area for children, a private car park in the shade of the hazel grove, wi fi internet, 9 apartments (separate entrances, 65 to 80 m2, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, private pergola for al fresco meals) fitted with every comfort, and our family, ready to welcome you and make your holiday unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Rigone in Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rigone In Chianti Montaione, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing