We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic spot and wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fattoria Barbialla Nuova
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic spot and wonderful stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We loved this place so much. Very rural, comfy but rustic, well equiped kitchen. Even the afternoon it rained was lovely. Wild boar families came by every night to eat the figs from the tree right outside our window and below the little seating area - fabulous. It is rustic, a working farm and literally miles from anywhere. While we were there some people came and left the next morning - "its a bit rural for us". So come if you want peace, stunning views, wildlife, a great base for seeing Florence, Sienna etc, like self catering and don't mind being a 10 min drive before you even get to a road. Don't come if you're thinking of sauntering down to the local restaurant/bar in the evening and don't like few bugs (it is Italy on a farm). We loved it including my elderly parents (82 and 88!). Ivano and Kyre the hosts are so helpful and knowledgeable. the Farm Shop could do wtih a bit more variety of stock but that's the only niggle really. The pool is a plunge pool so graet for cooling off but not for doing lengths!

Room Tip: We had Brentina Ovile because its flat and we had elderly parents with us. However we popped into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie292929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    17
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
47
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Barbialla is a divine property , old refurbished colonial houses are scattered among 500 hectares of land . You are in the heart of beautiful Tuscan country side , yet less than an hour away from all its major attractions, Florence, Pisa, Lucca and the coast are an easy reach for a day trip.
It is the ideal place where to recharge your batteries, listening and embracing the nature surrounding you. You can be active if you wish as there is horse riding nearby , golfing , cycling or mountain biking or just dip in your swimming pool and let the amazing vista do the rest.
Be spoiled with a personal cook or just drive to one of the many fabulous and affordable restaurants nearby to savor local specialties.
We ll back .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavutuDreamsResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently returned from two weeks in Italy. The first week was spent mostly in Rome, and then a couple of days in Venice. We were supposed to stay longer in Venice, but it was crowded with tourists, and we realized we wanted less of people like us, and more of real Italy. So we contacted Barbialla to see if we might check in a couple of days early, and they were gracious and -- fortunately for us -- available. We arrived two days before they expected us, and it was exactly what we were looking for. To be clear, it is NOT a villa, or a bed and breakfast, or a fancy hotel in any way. Which was perfect. It is a working farm, with rustically comfortable accommodations, stunning views, and the very lovely Kyre and Ivano, who were friendly and helpful. Our boys, ages 8 and 9, loved seeing the cows, playing with the dogs, climbing hay bales, swimming in the pool, petting the cats, picking mulberries, and, from the secret safety of our window in the evening, watching wild boars forage for those same mulberries. We arranged for Serenella to cook a meal for us on our first evening there, which we ate under the arbor on the front lawn of our apartment. The food was fresh and delicious, and she made enough for us to have leftovers the next evening. The farm is central to many places in Tuscany, and we spent time in Lucca, Pisa, Florence, Volterra, and -- after Kyre helped steer us to places that were even less touristy -- Certaldo, Colle di Val d'Elsa, and Montalcino. I have stayed in spas and five-star hotels, gotten massages and had chocolates on my pillows, but I have never been as relaxed as I was here. Our stay was peaceful and playful, with no one but ourselves to answer to, and yet there was always help and conversation if we asked for it. It is a very special place to stay, best for people who feel independent and adventurous, or who are looking for privacy in a rustic setting, or a family who doesn't want to worry about their kids running around, or... well, I could go on. There are many reasons to choose to stay here, as long as the comfort you are looking for is not one that needs to be catered to. It's the comfort of being with yourself, your family, surrounded by the unadorned natural beauty of Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at Barbialla for two weeks and loved every minute. We spent plenty of time relaxing on the estate and walking the trails and loved our apartment, which was well-designed in a simple rustic style. We even used the fireplace on a couple of rainy days. The kitchen was well-equipped and the bed was really comfortable. The small organic store on the premises had wonderful products and there are plenty of places nearby for shopping for everything you could need. Kyre and her husband, Ivano (and their charming children) were amazing hosts, giving us a real feel for the area and for Italian culture. Their suggestions for activities were invariably spot-on. With their helpfulness, we wandered the back roads of Tuscany and visited hill towns. A trip to the local market with Ivano was a treat. Our visit to Barbialla was the highlight of our six-week trip in Italy and we hope to go back again--and again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2onionsSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

“It was an exceptional farm experience for our family! The apartment was really nice for farm accommodation and the estate grounds are fantastic to explore. But what we enjoyed most was the time with Ivano and Kyra: pizza and bread baking course, mushroom hunt, cheese and sausage tasting. The night of italian cooking with Serenella was a highlight for our kids who stayed engaged and enjoyed it for the full 3.5 hours. This experience trully made our kids enjoy and appreciate farm life. Thank you!”

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luiza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We arrived at Barbialla after a months of hard work and travel and found it the perfect place to completely and utterly relax. The days were filled with lying around reading in a variety of comfortable and scenic places, eating local food and strolling through the truffle and porcini-filled forests hoping to strike it lucky. Everything Kiera and Ivano (the managers) suggested we try was amazing, from a food festival at a medieval village to dinner at the incredible Il Papero Osteria. Highlights of the trip included hand-making pizza and bread in the wood fired oven with Ivano and cooking in the apartment kitchen, which is the only apartment rental I've ever seen that came with a good set of sharp knives.

As a bonus both Pisa and Florence are a short train trip away, it was great to go exploring in those cities and then return to the countryside to sleep. Can't recommend it highly enough, looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the views from Doderi Est.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

After a week of Italian cities this was just what we needed. Somewhere quiet to unwind and enjoy the Italian countryside. This is a farm where you can just chill out and enjoy the environment around you, the great walks and most importantly the food! Day trips to San Grimignano, Pisa Florence are all driving distance, but make sure if you want to see something specific that you check it is open before you depart.
My top tip: get stuck in to cooking some local cuisine... mainly the beef reared on the farm.
Thanks for a memorable stay. We will be back!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaione
20.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
515 reviews
3.9 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#1 of 12 in Montaione
360 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Vacanze Colle Bertini
Casa Vacanze Colle Bertini
#1 of 44 in Montaione
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Belmonte Vacanze
Belmonte Vacanze
#2 of 44 in Montaione
146 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo Colle Verde
Agriturismo Colle Verde
#1 of 1 in Castelfalfi
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Barbialla Nuova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Barbialla Nuova

Property: Fattoria Barbialla Nuova
Address: Via Casastrada 49, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Montaione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria Barbialla Nuova is a 500 hectare organic farm with restored farmhouses that have been renovated to modern, green standards while still preserving their original rustic style. Our property is 70% woodland and we encourage guests to explore the farm and multiple walking trails. In autumn, join us for a guided truffle hunts as we search the valley floor for the rare fungus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fattoria Barbialla Nuova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Barbialla Nuova Montaione, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing