We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem in Tuscany” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pie di Costa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montaione
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pie di Costa
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

As it was our 6th visit to Pie di Costa in September, that in its self should say how much we think of it as a wonderful holiday house.
The apartments have everything would need for self catering. A steep walk up the hill into Montaione and their are restaurants and a couple of bars. A breakthtaking view point over the Tuscan hills.
The new pool, olive trees, vines and magnificent views just make the whole experience totally relaxing.
Filippo and his mother, Nila are wonderful and will go that extra mile to help and assist with anything you require.
Location of Pie di Costa is also just perfect for sight seeing. 20 minutes away from train station for trains to Florence, Pisa and Sienna.
Again a real gem!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJHAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nuremburg, Bayern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We just came back from a most wonderful stay at Piè Di Costa. It s hard to imagine a more beautiful place to stay in Tuscany. The house, the flats and the surroundings are so well-kept and laid out. Everything works, is in good shape, and made with respect to the traditional Tuscany style. We enjoyed every minute of it (and the free wifi overall even at the great new pool), and we will definitely be back!
The house is placed only 500 m from Montaione - a small town with super markets, cafe and shops. We walked up there every day to enjoy two scoops of Italian ice cream :-)
Pie di Costa is surrounded by wine and olive trees, you can't look anywhere and not enjoy it.
Thanks to Filippo and his family for making this kind of holiday experience possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

we absolutly loved this place to stay its close for Florence, Sienna and Pisa for sightseeing the views are incredible - it was so peaceful on our little terrace the appartment was very clean and spacious and every thing you needed was supplied
The new pool is lovely and as its heated its lovely to swim in,the views from the pool are wonderous
The climb into the village is steep and I wouldnt recommend it in the heat of the day but we walked in in the evenings and the bonus of the view when you stop for a breather is fabulous
Would def recommend for couples or for families as there is also a play park area on site with a slide and climbing equipment
I did find it hot at night for slepping but this would not put me off visiting again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claire u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gembloux, Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed at Pie di Costa in June 2011 with my family. Filippo and his mother are very kind persons, and we were warmly welcomed. The place is surrounded by wineyards and olive trees, and is really not far from Montaione (but get ready for a 20% slope to climb to arrive in the village by foot!) Montaione is a small village with all minimum infrastructure needed (general stores, bars, good restaurants, pizzerias, post office, souvenir shops,...), but for bigger shopping, you will have to go in another place. San Gimignano is not far from here...
The place 'pie di costa' has a nice swiming pool, several outside terrasses and wi-fi everywhere.
The only negative points I can mention is that the appartment Girasole is a little bit dark in the living room and kitchen, and that the fridge is not very close to the kitchen (but after a few days, you get used to it).
Finally, the prices are unfortunately higher than some other comparable agriturismo, for an equivalent comfort.
Nevertheless, we had a very pleasant stay at Pie di Costa and we can recommend it to all people eager to discover Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iplaytherhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Pie di Costa is exactly what it says to be. The picture are all true, but being there is even better. Filippo and his mother are very friendly. The evenings with a glass of wine on our balcony with a beautiful sunset are unforgetable.
The appartment was superb, clean and cool even though the temperature outside was 30 degrees. It was a real feel of luxery being able to spend our holiday in Pie di Costa.
Florence is easibly reached by either car or even better with the train from Castelfiorentino. Beautiful cities as Volterra and San Gimigano are within a 40 minutes drive.
I highly recommend this agriturismo!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanneke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

Splendid flats decorated in Tuscan style, extremely clean and tidy with an excellent quality/price ratio. Filippo, the owner, was very kind and helpful and gave us a lot of tips on things to do and places to see in the surroundings. The close proximity to the town of Montaione (only 500 metres away) and the free Wi-Fi connection was great. We will surely come back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

We found Piè di Costa on the internet from our home in Australia and booked it anticipating a lovely place to base ourselves in Tuscany. We were not disappointed in any way. Piè di Costa is exactly what it says it is on it's website. Our apartment was spacious, clean and immaculately decorated. The kitchen was fully equipped and we stocked up on goods from the 2 local supermarkets. The gardens are beautiful and the hosts (Filippo and his mother) were charming and helpful.
The nearby town of Montaione is a gem without being too touristy and we had a couple nice meals there as well as superb gelati.
Location wise we also found it perfect. It had a quiet, rural feel yet we could walk to the Village (albeit up a steep hill). It was 20 minutes to the train which we used to go into Sienna and Florenece, and we also took day trips in our car to Lucca and San Gimignano. There are no doubt many more sights that are accessible if only we could have stayed longer. It's also ideal if you just want to stay put and relax for a few days.
So if you're looking for an apartment in Tuscany then do yourself a favour and go to Piè di Costa. For us it was the perfect Tuscan experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montaione hotels
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Colle Verde
Agriturismo Colle Verde
#1 of 1 in Castelfalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#1 of 11 in Montaione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel La Tabaccaia
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#2 of 11 in Montaione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.5 mi away
Borgo San Benedetto
Borgo San Benedetto
#4 of 11 in Montaione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
3.9 mi away
Belmonte Vacanze
Belmonte Vacanze
#2 of 43 in Montaione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pie di Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pie di Costa

Property: Pie di Costa
Address: Via Santo Stefano 13/15, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Montaione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pie di Costa is a charming and well keeped Tuscany farmhouse recently renovated and divided into 5 self catering country apartment. There is a very large garden full of flowers an olive groves, and a swimming pool from where you can admire a wonderful panorama of the chianti countryside. Pie di Costa is located in Montaione between florence, Siena and only 21 km far from San Gimignano. The location of Pie di Costa is ideal for those who want to make daily trips in the most important cities of art, but want to keep a base in the countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pie Di Costa Montaione, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing