We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and pleasant comfort”
Review of Pie di Costa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montaione
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pie di Costa
Reviewed 3 October 2008

In the middle of a great landscape, Pie di Costa groups 5 apartments arranged to protect each other intimity. We appreciated having our own private entrance, own balcony-terrace for meals, and nice dishes/pans to cook some of our meals. It felt like home in a new country.

Surrounded by olive trees and vineyard, we discovered Tuscany from this small town in the middle of the triangle Florence-Pisa-Siena. Away from too popular touristic stations, the apartment provided both calm and easy access to these places we visited during the day.

The location requires a car and convenient parking spaces are provided. The owners are charming people who provided all required info to facilitate our stay and help us appreciate this beautiful part of Italy. Weather in September was very nice, but too cool to use the pool at the end of the day. Apartment was comfortably equiped for our group of 4 adults.

We would gladly go back to Pie di Costa and do recommend it as a simple and pleasant place to live while visiting the region. A great view from our balcony, two large bedrooms and the picturesque village added to the pleasure of visiting Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dughull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2008

Stayed at Pie_di-Costa in Tuscany for a week in a very scenic part of Tuscany. The accommodation was of superior quality with fully kitted kitchen and exellent panoramic view of Tuscan hills. The owners (Fillipo Bracci and his mother) were very helpful. If you do stay at Pie_di_Costa I suggest you try their wine. From this accommodation it is easy to drive to Pisa, Sienna and other parts of Tuscany. Visit to Florence should be done by train and getting to train station is quite easy, takes less than 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rushden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

We just could not fault Pie di Costa in any way.Our apartment was lovely and everything we required. Lovely area to eat outside and views of the beautiful gardens, vines and countryside. Filippo is a marvellous host and has information of everything we needed. Places to visit, restaurants, train times etc. Bonus for us was that Montaione was only a short walk away, be it up a very steep hill (but kept us fit!!). So best of both worlds self catering and wonderful restaurants to eat at. First class. website is entirely accurate.
We will be back.
Anita & John H

Stayed: September 2007
Thank firstevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

I cannot say enough good things about our stay at Pie di Costa in Montaione, Italy this past June. The apartments lhat comprise Pie di Costa are located in the original decades old farmhouse of a still working farm that has been converted into five 1 and 2-bedroom apartments, each with its own private entrance and outside area equipped with table and chairs. We rented the 2 bedroom, 1 bath unit located on the second floor and we absolutely loved it. It was extremely clean, tastefully furnished, had a fully equipped kitchen with oven and dishwasher, ceiling fans in each bedroom, and a bathroom with a modern shower stall with glass doors. All the appliances in the apartment were quite new and functioned perfectly and there were no electrical problems which one often encounters in ages-old Italian villas and apartments.

The grounds surrounding the apartments are as lovely and well kept as the apartments are. There is a very nice swimming pool on the grounds a bit away from the apartments, and everywhere you look there are gorgeous flowering plants, as well as, of course, well tended vinyards and olive groves.

If you are interested in renting an apartment at Pie di Costa, they have an excellent website ([--]) that will give you an accurate description of the apartments with photos, directions from every airport one might choose to fly into, etc., etc., etc. And, should you choose to contact Pie di Costa through the website, you will receive an unbelievably prompt reply in very good English.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank heyjud44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2007

My wife and I are experienced travellers and this place is by far the
worst place we have ever stayed. In fact, I can't think of any places
that we have stayed that even comes close to this nightmare. Do not get fooled by the other reviews or the hotel website. The rooms are dark, gloomy, very unclean (dust, fungus, dead bugs and birds excrements) and uncomfortable. The bathroom especially is hideous.

But worst of all is the staff/management - extremely rude, arrogant and negligent. We sadly witnessed the staff/management insult and threat other guests, and we certainly got the same treatment ourself.

This place is a nightmare, do not stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Hatori_Hanzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Eagan, Minnesota
12
Reviewed 28 April 2006

My husband and I stayed at Pie di Costa April 1-8, 2006 and highly recommend it. The farmhouse is divided into 5 apartments. Two of the apartments house 2 people; one can take up to 5 and the others house 4. Our apartment, Ginestra, was spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking equipment and dishes (wash before you use--the previous occupants may not have been good dish washers) and a nice farmhouse table and chairs. There was a large sitting area off the kitchen, a good-sized tiled bathroom with shower and bidet, and a separate bedroom with armoire. The apartment was very clean and simply, but nicely, furnished. I would have liked another light in the kitchen near the stove/food preparation area (there's just one hanging lamp over the table) and a brighter table lamp in the living room, but I understand that energy costs are high. The grounds are well-kept (it was too cold for the pool, but it looked inviting) with flowering shrubs and a view of vineyards and the town of Montaione perched on a hill nearby. Each apartment has an outdoor patio/dining spot. Bars of soap and paper towels for the kitchen aren't furnished, but there's a little grocery store in town where you can buy provisions inexpensively. There is a washing machine--make sure you ask for instructions-- but no dryer. Each apartment is furnished with a drying rack. (Reception, by the way, is in a stand-alone building past the pool; we had a little trouble finding it.)

Pie di Costa has a great website (----) with numerous pictures that you can trust and lots of information, including rates. We thought the location was particularly good for visiting Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra and the Chianti region; we also drove to Florence and Pisa/Lucca, but the most direct routes for those drives are not scenic and take more time than you would think, given the distances involved. ( I would actually recommend driving to a train station and taking the train into Florence because the roads into and out of Florence are congested and confusing and parking is scarce and expensive. ) Owner Filippo Bracci is a charming, friendly, accomodating host who speaks English very well. This is an excellent place to stay, and we hope to return with our children.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Anacortes, Washington
15
Reviewed 17 April 2006

Piè di Costa was the best part of our April, 2006 Italy visit. It delivered pretty much everything you can expect from a one-week stay in the Tuscan countryside. The rooms are clean and exceptionally well decorated, particuarly the furniture and cabinets: really first-rate stuff. The grounds are well-maintained and feature several interesting and photogenic pieces of antique agricultural equipment. I agree with the previous poster that activity in adjoining rooms are too audible (I got a bit tired of Euro Pop on my neighbor's TV) and the laundry needs some instructions for operating the washing machine, which is very different from the American equipment I am accustomed too.

The facility is set amidst rolling hills and offers many charming views. I expected this, but I did not expect the remarkable acoustics of the area. When you're outside, you can hear barking dogs and tractor motors at neighboring farms, and of course every strike of the bell at the village church. This is not a criticism: the sound is occasional, and pleasant: I enjoyed it.

The village of Monteione provides all the basics. We enjoyed the organic pizza at Erasmus and the traditional meals at Carpe Diem. Restaurant staff was very friendly with us tourists. The staff at the Co-op grocery franchise was less eager to please, but the prices were good. There are several Bancomat (ATM) machines in Monteione; all worked with our Wells Fargo Visa debit card, but keep in mind the 6 to 9-hour time difference when withdrawing your daily limit of cash.

Internet service is available at the village library for a modest fee. Bring your passport; they want to see it when you sign up. They assume you will use their public Windows machines, but had no objection when I plugged my Mac into an open port on their ISDN modem. It worked fine (bring your own Cat 5 cable), but upload speeds are poor: don't expect to send photos home.

If you're driving, bring a decent map of Tuscany. The road signs are maddening, and may or may not mention Monteione depending on which direction you're entering from.

Your host at Piè di Costa is Filippo Bracci. We also met his mother and his sister. They are lovely people. Filippo has good English and is very helpful. I would have reduced my rating by one star for the criticisms noted above, but Filippo really came through when I left a piece of luggage in our room and flew off to Palermo. It could have been a very ugly problem, but Filippo solved it quickly, effectively, and economically. Outstanding service.

If we return to Tuscany, we will stay at Piè di Costa. I only regret we did not stay longer this time.


___________
John R. Corso
2311 Westwood Dr.
Anacortes, WA 98221 USA

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montaione hotels
0.3 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#3 of 11 in Montaione
383 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel La Tabaccaia
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#4 of 11 in Montaione
181 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Il Castelfalfi - TUI BLUE SELECTION
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Borgo La Casaccia
Borgo La Casaccia
#10 of 45 in Montaione
51 reviews
3.9 mi away
Belmonte Vacanze
Belmonte Vacanze
#2 of 45 in Montaione
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pie di Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pie di Costa

Address: Via Santo Stefano 13/15, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Montaione
Price Range: £27 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pie di Costa is a charming and well keeped Tuscany farmhouse recently renovated and divided into 5 self catering country apartment. There is a very large garden full of flowers an olive groves, and a swimming pool from where you can admire a wonderful panorama of the chianti countryside. Pie di Costa is located in Montaione between florence, Siena and only 21 km far from San Gimignano. The location of Pie di Costa is ideal for those who want to make daily trips in the most important cities of art, but want to keep a base in the countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pie Di Costa Montaione, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing