We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Santa Maria
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$393
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni(Montaione)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
55
12
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
12
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspisa airportplaces to visitstayed for nightsapartment was cleanstunning viewsperfect placestefaniarsmfirenzetuscanyaccommodationcarsupplies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We spent a lovely week at Santa Maria in the heart of Tuscany. For starters, we arrived at the residence very late on our check-in day (Saturday close to 1am). I had emailed Laura and Stefania to let them know and they had arranged everything for our arrival. When we finally got there, they had left us a welcome letter with very specific directions on how to find our way to our apartment, our keys, maps of the area and some handy recommendations. They were very thorough. Our apartment was adorable...rustic and simple. It had a kitchenette area with a small fridge, full cooktop range, and even a dishwasher! All the cookware, utensils, and tableware is provided so you can truly live "la dolce vita". We ended up making breakfast most days before taking off for the day so it was nice. Did I mention they also have free wi-fi!! The grounds and the houses are beautifully maintained. One thing to note, make sure you bring your own toiletries products (i.e., soap, shampoo,etc.).
The location is amazing. Off the beaten-path but it is centrally located to all the main sights. To do Tuscany justice whether larger cities or remote towns, a car is the way to go. Just get ready for some winding roads with spectacular views!
Laura, Stefania, & Guiseppe (their dad) were awesome. They really do make you feel like family even if like us, you barely get to see them because your running around Tuscany all day long. Thank you all!!
Tuscany is simply enchanting and I so look forward to visiting again and staying at Residence Santa Maria.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at Santa Maria for our honeymoon for 9 nights. We had a wonderful time. The stay was really nice and so are Laura, Stefana and their father, in the end I was very sad to leave.

Upon arriving, Laura was very friendly! She explained everything from how to get to supermarkets, work the TV and how to use the internet. Every morning Laura helped us plan our itinerary for the day, gave us maps, helped to make ticket reservations for museums, and recommended wonderful restaurants and things to do.

Entering the room, it was clean and quiet (couldn't hear a noise except for the birds chirping outside). The bathroom is also spacious and very clean; it was bigger than the bathroom in our house. The bed was perfect for after long days of sight-seeing; firm in the right places and very comfortable.

We had a rustic Italian cooking class with Laura and she taught us how to make a traditional Italian meal. We made soup, handmade pasta with pesto, beef in a red wine vegetable base, delicious potatoes, tiramisu and a complementary bottle of wine which paired wonderfully with all our courses. With each bite we became more spoiled. It was extremely fun and would recommend anyone to take the cooking lesson in a heartbeat!

These are the things that made me enjoy our stay at this property, but our warmest thanks to Laura. She really knew how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful, you all were fantastic.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boccaccio room. We highly recomend it as it has it's own private balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_DeMattia_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We've spent 6 wonderful days in Santa Maria and really enjoyed ourselves. We brought our whippet dog along and he had lots of fun exploring the garden and running around the property. The location is in the middle of all "must-see" places and it takes you less than one hour to get to Florence, Pisa, Livorno, Siena... The kitchen is well equiped, the bed was very comfortable and I had no back pain from sleeping in it. :)
The mornings were beautiful while having your first coffee under the Tuscan sun...

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: You have to have a room with balcony / priceless!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eboez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Very nice place. Very nice owners. Many other towns and villages near: Florence, San Gimignano, Siena, Voltera, Chianti hills and many more. Best food.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaroslaw_gdansk_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The service we received was faultless, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were basically furnished but if we needed anything we only had to ask. It was easy to find with good restaurants and shops within a short car ride. It is a good central point for Florence, Pisa, Lucca and Sienna although we prefered to stay locally most of the time to enjoy the surrounding countryside and small villages. The sunny balcony was great for breakfast and lunch or just to relax as was the swimming pool area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews