We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Tuscan holiday apartments” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Santa Maria
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Tuscan holiday apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were lucky to be in the Michelangelo Apartment in August this year. Both the bedrooms were spacious with large comfy beds and en-suite shower rooms. The USP for this apartment is the 3 balconies - a real bonus to have a choice of personal outdoor space, which we made the most of. There was always sun/shade to be found somewhere!
Laura was an exceptionally gracious hostess. She made us feel very welcome and special, without being intrusive. Her dad was a great character and the musical evening he put on for the guests around the pool was great entertainment.
The gardens were beautifully kept as was the bbq/pool area, where there was always a choice of tables/chairs/loungers.
The surrounding landscape is typically Tuscan - rolling hills, vineyards, olive groves. Plenty of historic areas to visit for a day or half a day. Montaione is 10 minutes maximum in the car and provides amenities such as supermarkets and restaurants etc.
We highly recommend RSM as a holiday destination but wherever you go in Tuscany in summer, take plenty of suntan lotion and pack the insect repellent!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_lomas25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    11
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed for five nights and we really enjoy the whole experience! The weather was so hot and the swimming pool was like the heaven for us in the afternoon! The residence is in a really good position, located not far from San Miniato and San Gimignano, both beautiful place for dining and entertainment! And also not far from Florence and Pisa! But the best part of the entire stay was the father and owner of the residence that is also a seasoned musician, once a week would set up by the pool and offer us a night of familiar and traditional tunes! Overall the help and kindness from the family made us feel very comfortable and enjoy out stay.

Matia e Katia

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matia1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Laura and her Papa are wonderful hosts and we loved our 7 nights at Santa Maria. The location is perfect as you really are in the heart of Tuscany. The apartment is ideal, especially having a full kitchen to make breakfast before heading out for the day and on a few nights we cooked at home too. We definitely recommend bringing mosquito spray but other than that we were extremely pleased with our choice of accomodaton and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and recommend to friends and family. The pool and area around it is wonderful, and the perfect place to come and unwind after a busy day of driving around windy roads and visiting the bigger cities. We made the mistake of hiring a car without aircon which in the month of august is a fatal error! Don't do it. :)

We recommend the amazing woodfire pizzas at the Alberi bar just down the road, they also do a good cappuccino. And the Montaione gelato shop is the best I tasted, we had to go back every day! there is also a lovely restaurant called Casa Masi just around the corner which has outdoor seating under trees with fairy lights and candles every where and is hugely popular so make sure to book.

To get to Florence and Siena, rather than driving and paying for parking, we drove to Castelfiorentino and parked our car at the railway station which was ideal and much cheaper than driving in and paying up to 25 euros for the day's parking. and I think you save time catching the train too, much more relaxing.

Enjoy your stays! I want to go back now ...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children aged 14 & 10 yrs had a wonderful time at Santa Maria. The hosts Laura and her father were very friendly. The apartment was a good size and very clean. It did get very hot at night being on the second floor so we had to hire fans. The gardens and pool were great to relax and chill out at after a day out in Tuscany. Our favourite place to visit was Siena. The little pub down the road was good for pizzas. The location was ideal to travel to Florence. Pisa, San Gimignano and Siena. Laura's father played a little concert by the pool and we were allowed to drink wine and enjoy the entertainment. Laura cooked our meal on our last night and it was amazing. She is a fantastic cook and caring host. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We recently stayed 6 days at residence Santa Maria and had a wonderful time. The apartments are nice, the surroundings are very nice and the pool area is great. Laura was very friendly and helpful, and I would definitely recommend this place to others. Just bring some bug spray against he mosquitoes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castor, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Laura and her father greeted us with a warm Italian welcome, making us feel very comfortable. Santa Maria Farmhouse is as attractive as the photos, and we especially enjoyed the beautifully kept gardens. We really liked our apartment; the kitchen is well equipped, though the shower stall could stand some improvement. The pool was refreshing after a day of sight-seeing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We are a family of 4, with 2 young kids which recently stayed for 1 week. We loved everything about our stay - location was wonderful, pool was a hit with the kids, Laura's list of recommendations for the area were great (and led us to some special spots), and Laura and her Dad made us feel like family. We were sad to leave and definitely look forward to returning soon.

The Tuck's
Vancouver, BC, Canada

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuck4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaione
2.3 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#1 of 11 in Montaione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tenuta Moriano
Tenuta Moriano
#3 of 8 in Montespertoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Borgo Collelungo
Borgo Collelungo
#33 of 43 in Montaione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Querciole
Le Querciole
#5 of 14 in Casciana Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
18.4 mi away
Romitorio di Serelle
Romitorio di Serelle
#4 of 32 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Santa Maria

Property: Residence Santa Maria
Address: Via Alberi 74/80, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Montaione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Residence Santa Maria 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Santa Maria Montaione, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing