We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany hospitality at its finest-perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Santa Maria
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tuscany hospitality at its finest-perfect location”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

In addition to all the positive comments about Santa Maria, we add our unique own experience. Just 2 nights into our stay at SM, my wife became very ill, very suddenly. Laura provided all the assistance we could possibly require - from calling the ambulance which took us to a modern, expertly staffed, well-equipped hospital in Empoli, to offering to arrange for accommodation for me nearer to the hospital, to agreeing to extend our stay at SM for my wife's convalescence (in a ground floor apartment rather than our original 2nd floor apartment).

Each day I was able to call on Laura and Stephania to help with the myriad tasks I had to accomplish as a result of our health care emergency, including providing translation which was often required. In short we were treated as part of her extended family, and we will always be grateful to both Laura and to Stephania for their true care and concern for our well being. Without their help the outcome could have been devastating.

Exactly as advertised. In country not urban. you can hear the Roosters at dawn. Exactly as we wanted. We appreciated the quality of the other guests. It was in close proximity to services- supermarkets, laundry, take out, pharmacy, gelato shops, bank, pharmacy, etc. Perfect combination of country and modern services. Even a deli next to Santa Maria with ham, fresh bread, perfect of short stay in a self sufficient apt.

Thank you Santa Maria, we shall be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brunswick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    11
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Everything about our holiday at Santa Maria was perfect from communication when booking the holiday through to our departure. Our highlight was the cooking class with Laura we had so much fun and surprised ourselves with our results. The location is ideal for day trips to Florence, Lucca, Pisa and Siena also make sure you visit walled towns of Volterra and San Gimigano. We took the train when visiting Florence which was really easy and quick ! When not out and about Santa Maria is a relaxed environment with excellent rooms, balcony, pool and grounds. A good supermrket is a 5 minute drive from Santa Maria, a Pizzeria and bar is a 2 minute walk with a top quality restaurant a 10 minute walk. Highly recommend Santa Maria Farm House ! enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our recent trip to Italy included Tuscany, Lake Como, Cinque Terre and Venice. However, Our stay in Tuscany takes the spot light! We just loved this farm house in Tuscany. It was by far our favorite place we stayed at in Italy. Laura and family were awesome! We stayed in a one bedroom apartment behind the main lodge for 3 nights and it was just so quaint! It was very clean, had comfortable beds and spacious. It was a true "Tuscan" style apartment with a balcony surrounded by beautiful farm country and wineries. Laura is an excellent cook and offers cooking classes as well. We did not have time for that unfortunately but did reserve her to cook dinner for us one night. She brings it to your apartment with wine etc.; it was an amazing meal! There is also a quaint local pizzeria down the street that has a very "Tuscan" feel to it, great food, and a charming out door dining area. This is also a good location if you are looking to see Lucca, Pisa and Florence. We rented a car and used this as base camp to do day excursions to those places. My husband and I both highly recommend the Santa Maria Farm House if you are planning a trip to Tuscany!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

First of all I have to say how helpful and friendly our hosts were. Laura, Stefania and “Papa”, are lovely people who could do enough to make sure our stay was as good as it could possibly be. This was from responding to our first email through to our very last day. Laura especially was amazing and made us feel at home from the very start.

Santa Maria consists of around 10 apartments, set in a rural location in a small village called Alberi, about 5 miles from Montaione. It’s a great location for both exploring Tuscany or for relaxing by the clean pool. We stayed in apartment “Giotto”, single bedroom as just two of us. Our apartment had two terraces and we used one in the morning for a sunny breakfast and the other later in the day.

Three things we liked:
- Fantastic hosts and a lovely, peaceful location – a great retreat. We really enjoyed Papa’s concert by the swimming pool on the Friday evening. Everything well is so well organised and the grounds are wonderfully maintained, with lots of fruit trees.
- Some really good restaurants close by, Casa Masi being the best but a bit pricey, the little pizzeria just along the street was also very good and was good value. Montaione is a bit limited, but the views are fabulous and there are couple of places to get good gelato!
- Excellent wifi – we like to keep in touch when away and this made up for no meaningful mobile signal

Tips and recommendations:
- Castelfiorentino – has a train station and is a good way to get to Florence or Siena. We had to get tickets from the small shop across the street from the station and we parked our car in the adjacent cap park. The train fare was €9ish each, return and the car park was around €3 for 6 hours.
- Siena – well worth a visit as it’s very different to Florence or Pisa. We were grateful that we took the train as I can imagine it being very difficult to park there. It was also a very interesting walk from the station to the centre. Lunch on the Piazza del Campo was great for people watching. We chose a restaurant on the south side of the Piazza as this was more in the shade from the sun.
- We liked the wine tasting at Castello di Oliveto…. and was glad that we took a taxi!
- For the apartment – you might want to take a travel kettle, especially if you like tea. A filter coffee machine is available for hire, which we made use of.
- We were glad we took plenty of bug repellent – even so we got bit, especially early on.
- Our SatNav was priceless.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0RWICH_LAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were lucky to be in the Michelangelo Apartment in August this year. Both the bedrooms were spacious with large comfy beds and en-suite shower rooms. The USP for this apartment is the 3 balconies - a real bonus to have a choice of personal outdoor space, which we made the most of. There was always sun/shade to be found somewhere!
Laura was an exceptionally gracious hostess. She made us feel very welcome and special, without being intrusive. Her dad was a great character and the musical evening he put on for the guests around the pool was great entertainment.
The gardens were beautifully kept as was the bbq/pool area, where there was always a choice of tables/chairs/loungers.
The surrounding landscape is typically Tuscan - rolling hills, vineyards, olive groves. Plenty of historic areas to visit for a day or half a day. Montaione is 10 minutes maximum in the car and provides amenities such as supermarkets and restaurants etc.
We highly recommend RSM as a holiday destination but wherever you go in Tuscany in summer, take plenty of suntan lotion and pack the insect repellent!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_lomas25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed for five nights and we really enjoy the whole experience! The weather was so hot and the swimming pool was like the heaven for us in the afternoon! The residence is in a really good position, located not far from San Miniato and San Gimignano, both beautiful place for dining and entertainment! And also not far from Florence and Pisa! But the best part of the entire stay was the father and owner of the residence that is also a seasoned musician, once a week would set up by the pool and offer us a night of familiar and traditional tunes! Overall the help and kindness from the family made us feel very comfortable and enjoy out stay.

Matia e Katia

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matia1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Laura and her Papa are wonderful hosts and we loved our 7 nights at Santa Maria. The location is perfect as you really are in the heart of Tuscany. The apartment is ideal, especially having a full kitchen to make breakfast before heading out for the day and on a few nights we cooked at home too. We definitely recommend bringing mosquito spray but other than that we were extremely pleased with our choice of accomodaton and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and recommend to friends and family. The pool and area around it is wonderful, and the perfect place to come and unwind after a busy day of driving around windy roads and visiting the bigger cities. We made the mistake of hiring a car without aircon which in the month of august is a fatal error! Don't do it. :)

We recommend the amazing woodfire pizzas at the Alberi bar just down the road, they also do a good cappuccino. And the Montaione gelato shop is the best I tasted, we had to go back every day! there is also a lovely restaurant called Casa Masi just around the corner which has outdoor seating under trees with fairy lights and candles every where and is hugely popular so make sure to book.

To get to Florence and Siena, rather than driving and paying for parking, we drove to Castelfiorentino and parked our car at the railway station which was ideal and much cheaper than driving in and paying up to 25 euros for the day's parking. and I think you save time catching the train too, much more relaxing.

Enjoy your stays! I want to go back now ...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montaione hotels
2.2 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#1 of 12 in Montaione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belmonte Vacanze
Belmonte Vacanze
#2 of 44 in Montaione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pillo Cancello
Pillo Cancello
#5 of 12 in Montaione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borgo San Benedetto
Borgo San Benedetto
#5 of 12 in Montaione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borgo Collelungo
Borgo Collelungo
#27 of 44 in Montaione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Santa Maria

Property: Residence Santa Maria
Address: Via Alberi 74/80, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Montaione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Residence Santa Maria 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Santa Maria Montaione, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing