We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality stay in the middle of Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Santa Maria
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Residence Santa Maria is a family-run 2-building farmhouse place right in the middle of Tuscany, ca. 5km to the north of Montaione. It is easy to get to all the great places (Volterra, S Gimignano, Siena, Firenze, ...) as they are all within ca. 1 hour driving or closer. Our apartment was clean and equipped with functional furniture as well as a kitchen incl. dishwasher. We would have liked to have fly screens at the windows to get cool night air in (or to have an a/c). As written in other reviews, there is basically no mobile signal available and wi-fi availability is limited to a close radius around reception, which however included most of our apartment. Wi-fi is free though. The pool is comparably large (14m x 7m) and in very good shape. Laura, Stefania and Papa were very helpful with their tips about what to do in the area or where to eat.

Room Tip: We had the Leonarda da Vinci apartment, the 3 bedrooms were plenty for the 4 of us and could have ac...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank K_K_MG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you are looking for a 4/5 star hotel with all the mod cons then this not for you,if you want to chill out and relax and spend some quality time to-gether then this is the place. Yes the Wi-Fi maybe limited and your mobile signal maybe weak, but you are on holiday, due you really need them, I found it wonderful to have conversation's with other guest's, to actually read a book, to plan on what to do the next day. Set in a lovely valley, the apartments are well looked after, the pool and gardens are well kept, also lovely trees to shade under when it gots to hot.
Well located for trips to (take the train from Castelfiorentino) Florence,Sienna,Pisa and all the other wonderful Tuscan area's.
Montaione, is a great little town. and I agree with chanterj, a stunning view from the co-op car park and also there little meeting area in town.
Laura & Stefania & there Papa make you most welcome, with there smiles and helpfulness it was like being at home.
Good points: Everything about Santa Maria and Tuscany, sitting out on the balcony or eating out in Florence with a glass wine watching the sunset.
Bad points: We had to leave.
Ciao

Room Tip: I do not think it matters, if they are all like our one you will be satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pineridge_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

It was a really great experience for our family. We heard a lot about agriturismo in Italy. We looked for a farm house in Tuscany. Our friends recommended Residence Santa Maria. I’d like to tell you that we enjoyed our stay very much. The house is nice, it is placed at mostly equal distance to such famous cities like Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Siena and to the wineries in Chianti area. The owners of the farm house are two nice sisters (Laura and Stefania) and their Papa. Laura’s suggestions about things to do and places to visit were very helpful. We will be definitely back to Tuscany and the place we stay will be the Residence Santa Maria.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iulia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This was meant to be a little highlight between stops. Coming from a 4 star stay further south we expected a lot more for almost twice the price. The Michael angelo suite turned out to be a very dated 2 bed apartment with a print of the maestro's on the wall. This is not the farmhouse accommodation that was advertised but more like a 10 year old new build beside the road. The family that run it are lovely and it has a pool, but it was very overpriced. The apartment was very dusty and the showers dated with mildew. Lovely balconies were the only saving grace. Wifi is only accessible sitting outside reception and mobile phone cover is dreadful. Some nice eating out nearby. We had one of our best and cheapest meals at a trattoria in a nearby village. Ask for the one with the whistling owner. A little bit of work on the basics, cleaning and maintenance and a drop in price and it could be a good stopover spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byrnejoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We went early September 2012 for our 20th wedding Anniversary. We booked late so could only get a few nights, the experience was an absolute pleasure from the moment we arrived. I cannot express enough how lovely Laura is. We too have B&B accommodation in Frithelstock, (north Devon) - so we know how hard she works and that it can be difficult to please people. With her lovely smile and warm personality Laura is the perfect host & she kindly gave us some of her tiramisu (which I didn't realise I liked until I tasted this) when Papa gave us a 'personal audience with' performance in the gazebo - Thank-you pa pa Giuseppe - you and Laura are a credit to Tuscany and a wonderful example of the genuineness of the Tuscan people.
The pool & gardens are great, room to spread out & relax, this would be an amazing venue for a wedding.Took a train to Florence from a station 20 mins or so drive away, hassle free trip to this beautiful city & Sienna is also gorgeous, San Gimignano - incredible & Montaione has the best view from any Co-op car park in the world, surely ! Had anniversary meal at il Caminetto- the best meal I've ever eaten out - really good value for money. Being British, we could have done with a few more glasses & bowls/cups/plates that 'match' and do take repellent but don't let it put you off because these are only minor faults in what was really a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

In addition to all the positive comments about Santa Maria, we add our unique own experience. Just 2 nights into our stay at SM, my wife became very ill, very suddenly. Laura provided all the assistance we could possibly require - from calling the ambulance which took us to a modern, expertly staffed, well-equipped hospital in Empoli, to offering to arrange for accommodation for me nearer to the hospital, to agreeing to extend our stay at SM for my wife's convalescence (in a ground floor apartment rather than our original 2nd floor apartment).

Each day I was able to call on Laura and Stephania to help with the myriad tasks I had to accomplish as a result of our health care emergency, including providing translation which was often required. In short we were treated as part of her extended family, and we will always be grateful to both Laura and to Stephania for their true care and concern for our well being. Without their help the outcome could have been devastating.

Exactly as advertised. In country not urban. you can hear the Roosters at dawn. Exactly as we wanted. We appreciated the quality of the other guests. It was in close proximity to services- supermarkets, laundry, take out, pharmacy, gelato shops, bank, pharmacy, etc. Perfect combination of country and modern services. Even a deli next to Santa Maria with ham, fresh bread, perfect of short stay in a self sufficient apt.

Thank you Santa Maria, we shall be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brunswick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Everything about our holiday at Santa Maria was perfect from communication when booking the holiday through to our departure. Our highlight was the cooking class with Laura we had so much fun and surprised ourselves with our results. The location is ideal for day trips to Florence, Lucca, Pisa and Siena also make sure you visit walled towns of Volterra and San Gimigano. We took the train when visiting Florence which was really easy and quick ! When not out and about Santa Maria is a relaxed environment with excellent rooms, balcony, pool and grounds. A good supermrket is a 5 minute drive from Santa Maria, a Pizzeria and bar is a 2 minute walk with a top quality restaurant a 10 minute walk. Highly recommend Santa Maria Farm House ! enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leighg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montaione hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Tabaccaia
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#4 of 10 in Montaione
186 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Colle Verde
Agriturismo Colle Verde
#1 of 1 in Castelfalfi
15 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Borgo San Benedetto
Borgo San Benedetto
#11 of 47 in Montaione
57 reviews
2.2 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#3 of 10 in Montaione
387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence i Calanchi
Residence i Calanchi
#5 of 13 in Montaione
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Santa Maria

Address: Via Alberi 74/80, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Montaione
Price Range: £55 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Residence Santa Maria 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Santa Maria Montaione, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing