We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty and very good value”
Review of Casa Turrita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montefalco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Turrita
Ranked #14 of 27 Montefalco B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Pretty and very good value”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent one night here on our way to Umbria. It has lovely views over the countryside and is close to the charming hill town of Montefalco. Breakfast on the terrace under the trees was fabulous. Susan was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were fine.

A pool would be very welcome on a hot day, but at these prices, who's complaining?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank columnist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
460 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent another wonderful stay at La casa Turrita which we discovered last year in July. Susan is such a hospitable and friendly host and the location in the fabulous region of Umbria is the best one guests and visitors can dream of. Breakfast in the garden is a real treat and the rooms are so spacious and original.
We thank Susan again for her very warm welcome and her open-mindedness. We hope to come back as soon as we can.
Michel and Marie Moulin Lyon France

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moulinmichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Breath taking view, splendid food and exceptional hospitality--we found it all at this out of the way country B&B. The rooms are so comfortable and inviting as is the hostess, Susan. Her knowledge of the region was invaluable. She shared her favorite places to visit and restaurants to eat. But what we enjoyed most were long walks, great breakfasts and conversing under her fabulous tree. We will return!! Don't miss this rare location.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great mattresses that make for good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancysitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Last May my husband and I took a three-week trip to Italy to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. We started in Rome and made our way all the way up to Cinque Terre. I had many expectations for the trip, but one area I did not anticipate enjoying so much was Umbria. One of the areas with the least amount of tourists and the nicest people we met on our entire trip. And a good portion of this is due to where we stayed. Casa Turrita sits right outside of Montefalco on a hill that allows you to see the lights of Spoleto, Trevi, and Castel Ritaldi at night. The bed and breakfast is in a split family style home nestled among olive groves and vineyards as far as you can see. The day we arrived the air was filled with little white cotton candy puffs – seeds from the poplar trees. It looked like summer snow! When the wind would blow, the leaves of the one poplar that had not been trimmed back would sound like a light tinkling rain. The front yard welcomes you with a number of rose bushes, table and chairs to sit and take in the view. It feels more like coming to stay with family rather than at a B&B. This has much to do with the hospitality of the owner, Susan. Not only did she provide excellent restaurant suggestions, that were absolutely delicious, but she even helped us schedule our tour reservations for Florence and provided my husband with cold medicine on our way out of town when he came down with a minor head cold. She scheduled a winery tour for us at the Tabbarini winery (literally) up the road, where we received a brief history of the Sagrantino grape only found in the Umbria region. (I’m sure it would be absolutely fantastic to have a glass of the very rich and full-bodied wine during the cold and dreary winters they are apparently known for.)
Some of the restaurants we visited included L’Alchemista in Montefalco, Locanda Rovicciano and a pizza place in Trevi - sorry, I can’t remember the name, but Susan will be able to help you with that one ;) Not only were the first two restaurants absolutely amazing, but the chefs came out to greet us and help us order at both locations! We had an amazing trip and made wonderful memories from all of the places we visited, Rome, Florence, Siena, Montalcino, Cinque Terra, but I have to say the one place we visited that fit my idea of what Italy would be was in Umbria. This may sound surprising since most people think of Tuscany for the perfect Italian country visit, but I fell in love with Umbria and can’t wait to go back. And when we do, I hope to go back to Casa Turrita. Thank you/Grazi to Susan and all of the wonderful people we met in Montefalco. Can’t wait to come back!
--Rebekah & Marcus

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is a B&B that stands out. Rooms are clean, in good condition and well-maintained and spacious although the bulky furniture makes it look a little smaller than it is. Susan, who runs the place, is always very helpful and accessible but at the same time knows how to leave you alone. We were a family of 2 adults and 2 small girls, and with the apartment and one of the double bedrooms had exactly what we needed. But the best part of it are the views, you can see the valleys of Umbria from the front garden of her house where you can also relax with a book or have your lunch or dinner al fresco.
Tip: if you are a group of 5 - 7, try to book all 3 room with the apartment and it will be like renting your own house because you will have the place to yourself.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTelegramSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We loved this place. Susan was a helpful, generous hostess. The apartment was high quality, a very comfortable place to stay and tour the area. We spent 3 nights there touring several hill towns. Susan's breakfasts were sumptuous. We highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: The apartment was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitman, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This is my second time in Italy and both times I stayed at Casa Turrita. Susan is a great host and very knowledgeable about the towns around her B&B. The rooms are very clean and affordable. I love the fresh baked goods Susan serves in the morning. When I come back to Italy I will definitely be staying at Casa Turrita again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montefalco hotels
0.0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast San Marco
Bed & Breakfast San Marco
#1 of 27 in Montefalco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ceccarini Fonte D'Oro
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Degli Affreschi
Hotel Degli Affreschi
#5 of 8 in Montefalco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Zuccari
Villa Zuccari
#1 of 8 in Montefalco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardinal Girolamo di Moncelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Turrita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Turrita

Property: Casa Turrita
Address: Boschetto 3A, 06036, Montefalco, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montefalco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montefalco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Turrita, owned by American Susan Armstrong, sits amidst famous olive groves and vineyards of Montefalco. Casa Turrita is located three kilometers from Montefalco, a medieval hill town known for its' wine and olive oil. Susan has lived in Italy for many years and speaks both Italian and English so you can feel secure knowing that someone speaks your language while in foreign country. Casa Turrita is ideally located for exploring Umbria. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Turrita Montefalco, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing