We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence
Va
Level Contributor
204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location...over priced”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

View over looking the valley was amazing. The selection of restaurants was limited but the trattoria on the square was outstanding. The air conditioning was a problem and the wi-fi was only available in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booksVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    71
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
215
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were not staying at Bontadossi, but at another Mr and Mrs Smith property nearby in Umbria, and they arranged for us to have lunch and a spa treatment there on the way back to the airport: we are so glad we visited!

We had a gorgeous lunch, fresh and simple, good wine list, elegant food: in fact my boyfriend said it was the best beef carapaccio he had ever had! It was very nice to sit outside in the square and watch life pass by. Our waiter (I think he was also the manager) was very friendly and smiley.

We had a look at the intriguing exhibition inside, and loved the look of the little bar area. It is all very sophisticated: great taste but warm and welcoming, and dare I say it, very Italian! Next up, our spa treatments. As we had just booked that morning, there was a limited choice as they were busy that day: my boyfriend had a soak in a red wine jet bath for 30 mins, and I had a 30 min massage. We were first shown to a changing room all laid out with robes and slippers in our sizes, and there is an absolutely gorgeous terrace with views over the town. This was lovely, I could have soent all afternoon up here! My massage was very competent and enjoyable, I did feel the therapist was a little bit rushed as if they had squeezed us in which was probably the case, but I was left relaxed. My boyfriend enjoyed the exoticism of his wine bath, although we did agree that his was an expensive and fleeting treatment in general at €50. Once again, this was more a result of having to take the treatments available to us as a late booking: I am sure had we been able to choose from the full menu we would have been very happy with everything. The feel of the spa is very calm and luxurious, with secret nooks, steam areas and so forth: it did feel as if it was reserved for the hotel guests however as we weren't permitted even to look around as not to disturb others. We liked the vibe though, and once back upstairs in reception, the manager took pleasure offering us some cold water before our journey.

All in all, a VERY pleasant afternoon in this high quality hotel, which has been out together with thought and whimsy. Our compliments to the chef and the staff. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again, and hope to stay next time to enjoy everything the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The palazzo is located in the heart of Montefalco, with many nice restaurants at walking distance. We booked the superior room for one night, but it felt like we were there for one week! It was amazing, in one word. From our balcony we had a beautiful view over the terracotta rooftops and the landscape of Umbria. Our spacious room was carefully and beautifully decorated, which integrated medieval and modern elements. After breakfast (with excellent coffee!) we enjoyed the AQUAM treatment. It was astonishing, an experience we will never forget. Very romantic. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This is a nice boutique hotel in the main plaza. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was some trouble with the air conditioning the first night, but the management gave us a credit on our bill even though we did not ask. The staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel has great views.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhdcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Boutique hotel in a tiny quiet hill top town. We found it featured in a local gourmet magazine in australia called Delicious magazine. Needless to say it has a lovely restaurant. The food was exquisite ( dinner) but breakfast was the usual offering for Italy. Nothing special but adequate. You can sit inside or outside over looking the beautiful piazza.
We hardly ever saw other people. We felt like we were the only guests!
We stayed in room 1. It had the most amazing frescoes all over the walls and ceiling, it literally took or breath away when we walked in. The bathroom was very large with a lovely spacious shower. Every room in the small hotel is different.
Our aircon wasn't that effective in fact it felt like it was blowing hot air so we turned it off and opened the gorgeous shuttered windows. We did ask for someone to check it which they did, but it didn't make much difference. We didn't make a fuss as we were only there two nights. We also had really small towels in the bathroom. strange. Like oversized hand towels. I asked for bigger towels and they got some for us. Not sure if it was an oversight by the maid or if they were standard issue. But glad we got the larger ones. The room could do with some helpful tourist information about what to do in the town. There was a single page in Italian explaining basic hotel information and that was it. English would be helpful. They could be more proactive in promoting their township. When you are only there for a short time, you need to have some suggestions.
Wifi in hotel is fairly poor. Not sure if it's because of the hotel location but we were disappointed.
There is a rather unusual spa downstairs. You book it for one hours private use as part of your room fee. It consists of a lounge area with self serve tea, a steam room, showers and plunge pool in a grotto type area. It was the middle of Summer and all a bit hot to enjoy. But pleasant just the same. I had visions of spa services on offer - eg massage etc but it didn't seem that kind of spa so I was a little disappointed. Also there was only two towels supplied and no one around to ask for more. When you are getting in and out of steam rooms and the pool, there is a lot of water. Again not a big deal but an easy one to improve on.
There is also a delightful courtyard that you go out and use and sit in the sun. But it was so hot. No one seemed to go out there at all. What a waste! Now if it had a small pool to cool off in....wishful thinking.
This is a lovely hotel in a quaint little village. We recommend it. It doesn't get full stars due to the few issues we experienced. But it's just lovely. Maybe a visit in cooler months would be better.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 333Sally333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here last week for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon. The hotel manager had kindly upgraded us to a junior suite and left us a chilled bottle of Proseco in our room. The location is perfect, right on the picturesque main square and there is free parking nearby. We were in room 7 at the back of the hotel which was large,comfortable and the high ceiling was decorated with amazing frescoes. We also had wonderfull views for miles of the Umbrian countryside. The hotel is very stylish and a great mix of original features and contemporary art. The spa was fabulous and we had an hours exlusive use included in our rate which was very romantic. The only small criticism was that we found the restaurant service a little bit cold at breakfast and there was nothing very inviting to make us want to eat at the hotel or have a drink at the bar. Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The staff were delightful. Really charming. The decor was modern and stylish without being cold or minimalist. They used the features of the original palazzo very well. Fabulous spa in the basement with steam room and body temperature pool. You can have it as a private session which was beautiful - candle lit with herbal tea provided. The food in the restaurant was the best in town by a long way (and there's lots of competition). A delightful place to be for 4 days while we checked out the local area. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 9 was at the back. Very quiet and the sun shone in all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiggyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefalco
2.9 mi away
Villa Zuccari
Villa Zuccari
#1 of 8 in Montefalco
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Degli Affreschi
Hotel Degli Affreschi
#5 of 8 in Montefalco
270 reviews
12.3 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
#4 of 8 in Montefalco
157 reviews
14.6 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
1,681 reviews
23.4 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 12 in Norcia
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa

Property: Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
Address: Piazza del Comune 19, 06036, Montefalco, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montefalco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Montefalco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa in Hotel Palazzo Bontadosi is situated in the ancient medieval cellars; an oasis of wellness and total relax, ideal place where to revitalize yourself with exclusive and personalized treatments.The salt water pool is in the ancient water tank, where you may try the beneficial effects of a Watzu massage or simply relax sipping a good wine or a herbal tea.The Hammam, built in slate and gilt "bisazze", is the ideal place where to have a pleasurable and relaxing moment wrapped in the beneficial effects of the steam and chromotherapy.The showers are a small wellness course: neck massage, localised water jets and foot massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel And Spa
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel Montefalco
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa Montefalco, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing