We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Antonelli vineyard and cucina in cantina, a great experience”

Antonelli San Marco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Antonelli San Marco is an organic wine and farming estate located centrally within Montefalco's DOCG winemaking area in Umbria. With a background rich in history, the Antonelli family is passionately committed to caring for their territory and dedicated to producing quality wines and extra virgin olive oil. And of late emmer wheat products, chickpeas and cured pork cuts made from their free-range pigs. Our wine-tourism extends to include apartment hospitality in the old restored farmhouse - "Casale Satriano" and nature walks through our beautiful 40 hectares of woods. In 2009 “Cucina in Cantina” was launched - a taste education programme specialising in wine tasting and cellar visits, cooking lessons, wine-pairing lunches and dinners open by reservation only. Winery visit & Tasting Programme Experience the taste of authentic Umbrian home cooking paired with the right wine. 4 - course lunches/dinners with typical products Seasonal menu of Umbrian antipasto, pasta, meat, vegetable dishes and dessert. € 37,00. 3 - course lunches/dinners with typical products Seasonal menu of Umbrian antipasto, pasta, salad and dessert. € 27,00. Umbrian antipasto Bruschetta with extra virgin olive oil, typical pork cured meats, cheese and Sagrantino wine biscuits. € 20,00. Wine cellar visit & tasting of 4 wines Accompanied with bruschetta with extra virgin olive oil. € 10,00 Cooking school “Cucina in Cantina” is about Umbrian home-cooking. A hands-on approach is favoured in the kitchen where the atmosphere is friendly and serene. All the recipes are exquisite and simple to make. After the cooking, a convivial lunch or dinner is served with Antonelli wines. Choose from a one-day lesson at € 120,00 or from one of the 3-hour lessons at € 80,00. A team of “casalinga” home cooks, namely Teresa and Leonella are coordinated by Home Economist Wendy Aulsebrook who will direct your attention to particular aspects of preparations. Reknown for our excellent food & wine and professional service we look forward to your visit!
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Antonelli vineyard and cucina in cantina, a great experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I just spent a wonderful afternoon and evening at the Antonelli winery as well as participated in the brilliant cucina in cantina cooking class that the Antonelli family offers. This winery, situated in San Marco, Montefalco umbria, is a great place to visit and get a tour of wine making in this spectacular part of Italy. However, the absolute must do is the cooking and wine pairing experience they conduct. Wendy Aulsebrook and Leonella were just delightful as our instructors and made every moment feel as if you were part of the family cooking and partaking in Umbrian life. We prepared 7 dishes as part of the program and sampled a minimum of 4 wines throughout the meal. A personalized tour of the winery topped off the evening. Drop by the winery at the very least but I would make the time to do the cucina in cantina if you are passing through this beautiful area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Averagejoe001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    23
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
guilford,CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a fabulous tour and tasting we had of Antonelli vineyards. 6 friends enjoyed the tour. Our tour guide as adorable, friendly and knowledgable. We had a lovely tasting in their tasting room at a long table which had been set up in preparation for us. We had cheese, bread and chocolate accompaniments. The wine was so delicious we have been trying to find it back at home without much luck. YOu won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tommysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great bilingual team, diverse tasting, nice tour, organic wines”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I visited Antonelli Wnery in Montefalco and other area wineries for an easy day trip on the recommendation of the owners of Castello di Montegiove winery and specialty castle lodging in Montegiove, Umbria.

Wow! Great presentation of the wines by 3 different hospitality team members, Wendy, Marco and another nice gentleman who are all bilingual Italian, English (and, who knows what else.) They clearly love the wines and the guests.

Very professional and informative presentation of typical regional varietals, including the Sagrantino grape made 3 different ways in a new style fermented in steel called "Contrario," traditional famous style of oak aged and bottle aged, and traditional famous Passito style which is a not-too-sweet dessert style wine made from grapes dried then pressed. Other excellent wines presented included a Montefalco Rosso blend and Reserve blend, both Sangiovese-driven with Sagrantino and Merlot - excellent quality with clean fruit, nice balance and good value for the price. White wine tasted included Trebbiano Spoletino 100%, also clean, crisp and fruit forward. They have other wines as well. We purchased wines across a variety of styles including a well-presented magnum in a wooden box.

Excellent new vintage just harvested 2013 organic olive oil tasting was also offered with a choice of toasted or untoasted fresh made bread. The estate organic oil is excellent quality, with a strong and fresh profile.

The winemaker, Massimilano Caburazzi, was also at the tasting room and kindly offered a winery tour. He has been on the team since 1998 and clearly loves his job (and, does it well).

While it was not open at the time I visited, they also have a new cantina kitchen and offer cooking classes so we may come back and visit again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank spintheglobepartners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cooking class”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

A friend of mine from Rome suggested Wendy for a teacher in the cooking class. I participated and made 9 items and tasted 4 wines grown locally. Then my friends arrived for lunch. I had a great tour of the wine production. We had a great lunch and a fantastic time. I highly recommended the cooking class.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great cooking class”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our cooking class, followed by lunch with wines and winery tour, with the lovely Wendy and Leonella. A beautiful kitchen and so well organised. We practised 9 authentic Umbrian dishes and then ate them in great company. A lovely experience - thank you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SomersetReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antonelli San Marco also viewed

 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Antonelli San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing